Early 2009 Mac pro compatible CPU upgrades

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SharkRaptor, Feb 2, 2015.

  1. SharkRaptor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #1
    Hello, everyone!

    I've been wanting to (more of needing to) upgrade my 4.1 quad core 2.66 ghz Mac pro.

    I have 32 gb's of ram for it, and a gtx 670 FTW edition GPU. All I need now is to upgrade the CPU (opposed to buying an entirely new computer)

    I've been looking at this CPU here --

    http://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php...lG1H1J8Fz0dGYF8HYZ9iQtm7NncaE8i14waAt4b8P8HAQ

    But then I realized, what's supported/been tested to work for the 4.1?

    That CPU is a 6-core, and I know that there is a firmware somewhere where it recognizes the 4.1 as a 5.1, so that it could allow 6 core CPUs in the early 2009 edition.

    But, I would like to know which CPUs have been tested and have worked as an upgrade for the 4.1 Early 2009 Mac pro.

    I'm not looking to spend over $1000, but I am looking for a good upgrade that will for sure work.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    That one won't work.

    For a 4,1, AFTER you apply the 5,1 firmware upgrade, you can use a W36xx series or X56xx series CPU.

    The best one is X5690, and it cost about $300 now.

    If you want better cost to performance ratio, there are plenty of used W3680 <$200.
     
  3. Machines macrumors 6502

    Machines

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Fox River Valley , Illinois
    #3
    That chip is not compatible in your Mac .

    I concur with our Hong Kong friend .

    For a single processor Mac Pro 4,1 (2009) , upgrade the firmware first to Mac Pro 5,1 . Please do research into this . Don't install the chip until you do !

    And then install a X5690 with a sSpec of SLBVX .

    This is printed on the chip and is the only version of this chip you can use . You can use other chips , but this is the best . 250 USD on eBay USA now .

    Good luck ! It is not too hard . One tool (3mm 9 inch hex driver , some thermal paste AS5 and a lot of love .
     
  4. SharkRaptor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #4

    Thank you!

    Just so that I wouldn't buy the wrong one, is this the right CPU?

    http://www.serversupply.com/product...do6ivU3mcLvP3xfm6Mua0xe9ijI-1K1mdoaAi8y8P8HAQ

    Also, do you think that I would have to purchase a seperate power supply for my GPU if the CPU is going to be 130W?
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    This X5690 is the best you can get for the cMP.

    Remember you MUST flash the firmware BEFORE you install the CPU.

    The cMP's PSU rated 980W, that 130W CPU is nothing, no need to worry about the power supply.

    However, if your GPU's max power consumption >225W, or it has a 8pin input, technically you need external power for that GPU.
     
  6. Machines macrumors 6502

    Machines

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Fox River Valley , Illinois
    #6

    Vendor is not supplying enough information . You run the risk of getting an engineering sample (which would be disastrous ) .

    Go to eBay and search the sSpec number I gave to you earlier . This is a slam dunk method of getting the right chip !!!
     
  7. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #7
    A Xeon W3690 would also be an option, cheaper than a X5690. He has only one processor socket.
     
  8. todesto macrumors member

    todesto

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Location:
    Fullerton, CA
    #8
    W3690 is good. But if you can get X5690 about same price as W3690 (I got X5690 for $20 more than W3690 price), I say go for X5690 even though you have single socket as X5690 is better than W3690.

    http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Xeon-X5690-vs-Intel-Xeon-W3690
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
    On a single CPU machine, they really both are the same. The advantage of the X5690 is that it can support 64GB of RAM where the W3690 can only support 56GB of RAM on a Mac Pro. Not really a big deal. Let your wallet be your guide here.

    Lou
     
  10. SharkRaptor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #10
    If you are able to, I might need some help with the firmware update.

    I ran the zip and it made the ram disk folder, but before it finishes it gives me the error '5570'. I have tried to find what this means, but I can't find anything about it.

    Is there something I need to do before I can run it?

    I did try booting up with the disk on it, and it did make the sound, but it's all the same.
     
  11. Machines macrumors 6502

    Machines

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Fox River Valley , Illinois
    #11
    please send me a private message ...
     
  12. SharkRaptor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #12

    Sweet! Thanks!

    Currently, the X5690 is the CPU I'm planing to get.

    ----------

    Can't PM right now, but should be able to tomorrow sometime. (Have to have been on MacRumors for atleast a day)
     
  13. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #13
    A Search led me here:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1752143&highlight=5570

    Which leads here:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=19333344&postcount=8

    Lou
     
  14. woodenbrain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #14
    I have the same model: Early 2009 quad core Intel Xeon 2.66 ghz Mac pro. Firmware has already been flashed to 5,1.

    So just to clarify, this has a single processor socket only? So I just need ONE CPU?

    I've read a lot about heat sink issues and lidded CPUs in other threads. Am I correct to assume that that issue only applies to the dual processor models and NOT to this one at all?
     
  15. kschendel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #15
    Yes, just one CPU, one socket. I can't answer your heat sink/lid questions, I used a board swap service to upgrade mine since minimal risk / downtime was the overriding consideration.
     
  16. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #16
    Correct: One CPU. No heat sink issue in 4,1 single CPU models.
     

Share This Page