Early 2013, Retina MPB, UI performance benchmarking and review

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DiscardedPacket, Mar 8, 2013.

1. DiscardedPacket macrumors member

A bit of background about myself. I'm an IT consultant, which means I spend months at a time at customer sites on projects, hotdesking. I rarely have an external monitor to connect to, so i'm almost always relying on my laptop screen to get stuff done. My old laptop was an Early 2011 13" cMPB, i7, 8GB RAM, 128SSD.

So my reasons for moving onto the retina laptop? I wanted more screen real estate, but maintain the portability and weight of the 13" laptop. The 128SSD was also getting a bit restrictive. The new retina model I purchased is Early 2013, 2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD.

I've been reading this forum for months working out if I should get it now or wait for Haswell. Some people couldn't notice the performance issues, some could, not sure who to trust, I decided to go ahead and take the risk and purchase.

So, based on this, I've done some benchmarking using the quartz debug tool so everyone here can see what the performance is like.

Personally for me I find 1920 x 1200 too small, so I run the laptop in 1680 x 1050. The performance is better in "best for retina", but for me 1440 x 900 is just too big. So all the tests below are performed in 1680 x 1050.

The following states are the FPS rate as depicted by the quartz debug tool when scrolling through the particular applications. i've used the same files (PDF, XLS, etc.) with all testing.

Early 2011, 13" cMPB

Medium Detail PDF: 40 FPS
    High Detail PDF: - 30 FPS
    Large Spreadsheet (Excel 2011): 12 FPS
    Safari (not webkit) on buzzfeed.com: 45 FPS
    Safari (not webkit) on gmail Inbox: 10 FPS

These are the tests using the new retina macbook.

I used gfxCardStatus to switch between integrated and discrete graphics. Note that I also performed the tests in dynamic switching mode, and the discrete graphics never kicked in.