Early 2015 Macbook Pro - 4k @ 60hz awesome - Except?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ByDesign, Apr 23, 2015.

  1. ByDesign macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    #1
    I'm waiting to post my experience setting up a Asus pb287q 4k monitor until I can solve one minor irritation. Running a Thunderbolt to Display Port 1.2 cable I am enjoying 4k @ 60hz (no lag) but when I put the Macbook Pro into clamshell the ASUS monitor blacks out and returns but it reverts to 30hz. Can I run in clamshell @ 60hz?
     
  2. ByDesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    #2
    During a chat session with apple support I started to think that maybe when I close the lid on the macbook pro it reverts to display port 1.1 in the drivers. Of course this is way above my knowledge level and even apple support has elevated it to the Engineers with a 3-5 day wait.
     
  3. cookies! macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #3
    Dumb question but it can't hurt to ask, did you make sure to keep the power cord connected? Clamshell doesn't work without it
     
  4. ByDesign, Apr 23, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2015

    ByDesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    #4
    cookies! , yes the power is connected but I think I just figured it out.

    With the Macbook open and connected you have a choice to select the internal retina display or the External monitor "Asus" as which display to run the "best for" setting. It was defaulted to retina for the Mac and when put into clamshell it would jump back to 30hz . What I finally did was set it on "best for" the ASUS and then closed the Macbook. I kept my 60 hz but text and everything was tiny of course. I then went back into display properties and selected scaled 1920x1080. This gave me perfect scale and 60 hz finally. It is beautiful!
     
  5. pg-robban macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    #5
    Glad you got it working since I'm planning on buying this exact monitor myself as soon as I get my rMBP. When you say scaled 1920x1080, is that an HiDPI setting?
     
  6. BriOS2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    #6
    1920X1080 is 1080p. Thats not 4K and if thats all you are going to use it for, you wasted a ton of money getting a 4K monitor. Glad it all works to your liking though.
     
  7. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #7
    Someone doesn't understand how the Displays system preference works with HiDPI displays.
     
  8. BriOS2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    #8
    Lol school me then. 1080p is 1080p.
     
  9. ByDesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    #9
    There is some very good scaling going on. I just put it into 4k and I'm saying that text looks as good or better with 1920x1080. It has to be HiDPI, right? All I know is I returned a base 27" iMac (non retina) because of blurry text. This setup is so much sharper running scaled 1080p and for just a little more money I now have 2 great computers in one. Note, in the monitor info block it says I'm running 3840x2160@60Hz.
     
  10. ByDesign, Apr 24, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2015

    ByDesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
  11. ByDesign, Apr 24, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2015

    ByDesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
  12. inhalexhale1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Location:
    Ridgewood, NJ
    #12
    He means the 1080p HiDPI setting is not the same as picking 1080p scaled down. He's using his 4k monitor to produce the same effect as Apple does with the retina MacBook screen. Basically, enabling "retina" mode on the 4k screen, instead of running at the native resolution with everything super tiny.
     
  13. ByDesign, Apr 24, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2015

    ByDesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    #13

    Attached Files:

  14. pg-robban macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    #14
    This is why I asked if he was using 1920x1080 as a HiDPI mode, if it's just scaled then it's, as you say, useless.
     
  15. ByDesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    #15
    I am just starting to educate myself on using a 4k external monitor but yes I'd say it has to be HiDPI because text is so sharp and photos stay the original size. I will post a review with videos, sometime this weekend I hope, of this monitor.
     
  16. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #16
    Screenshot from my rMBP :

    [​IMG]

    Look at the magic words under the Mac - Looks like 1440x900.

    2880x1800 display runs as if it was a standard 1440x900 screen and applies retina automatically. Pick 1280x800, 1680x1050 etc if you select the other options and OS X scales the display automatically.

    The Asus the OP has is effectively a 1080p retina screen to OS X.

    Class dismissed. :p
     
  17. ByDesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    #17
    I think it is all Voodoo magic but it works very well. Now i must go sacrifice a chicken nugget to thank the VooDoo Spirits.
     

Share This Page