Early Intel iMac HDD getting noisy

Discussion in 'iMac' started by markcres, Jul 25, 2009.

  1. markcres macrumors 6502

    markcres

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi all,

    My early 06' Intel iMac (1.83 ghz / 2MB RAM) has been getting noticeably more noisy in the last couple of weeks. Not the fan.. but the hard drive - which seems to be more 'crackly' and audible... and seems to be doing stuff even when I'm not using the computer.

    I have used Disk Utility to run a verify but there are no errors... and I have some 40GB free space. I haven't installed anything at all in the last 6 months.

    I also ran Techtool Pro 5 - a SMART check passes OK.

    Could this be a precursor to some HDD fail ?
    Is there anything else I can check ?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Sounds like the first sign of failing HD.. Get an external and run Time Machine if you haven't. You can only wait
     
  3. markcres thread starter macrumors 6502

    markcres

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Hmmm. thanks. I already back everything up to an external drive.. but if it goes pop then it would be very sad as the screen was replaced a few months back under warranty (in fact 1 week before the 3 year warranty expired!!) and I really like the machine.

    presumably my options would be:

    1) Use the YouTube vids showing how to replace a HDD myself or
    2) Attach a fast external firewire drive and boot from that

    Any advice on which of these to try if and when why HDD goes pop ??
     
  4. myuserid08 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #4
    Have a go at replacing the drive yourself, the white iMacs are really easy to open, what have you got to lose anyway?
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    If you are afraid to change it yourself, Apple will do that but it costs more, maybe 200$ with labor
     

Share This Page