Easiest Way To Get Iphone Apps!!!

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by mattydub, Nov 13, 2007.

  1. mattydub macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #1
    (Found on another forum)

    Add
    repo.us.to

    to your list of installer resources, and install the iphone apps through installer!!!!!
     
  2. madmaxmedia macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    Very interesting! Did you try it yourself?

    (I only ask because this would be a great way to deliver malicious code to an iPod Touch.)
     
  3. mattydub thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #3
    no, i did not try it myself as I already have the iphone apps installed.
    However in the forums i found this in, it had a great success rate, and it also has the 1.1.2 apps according to some of the posters.

    As always try at your own risk, but worse case scenario, just restore the ipod. ;)
     
  4. Exsomos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    #4
    I cant seem to find the repo.us.to under the installer.app anywhere, did the refresh and all that.

    Am i doing something wrong?

    I have been reading these forums for like two months and just now decided to register. This one has me stumped. I want to upgrade to the 1.1.2 but not with out the mail app:mad:
     
  5. mattydub thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #5
    click on "resources" while inside installer app
    then click "add"
    type in "repo.us.to" and add
    allow the list to restore, and then u will find the apps inside installer ;)
     
  6. Exsomos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    #6
    Thanks mattydub, you can disregard the PM, i just relized that was you in the other thred.

    It does say that only to install if you have an iphone? is this an issue for the ipt?
     
  7. mattydub thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #7
    what says only to install if you have an iphone?? sorry, a bit confused?? Why would people be installing iphone apps. (mail, notes etc.) to an iPhone when it already has all these apps???

    P.S I sent you an email as well... check it out;)
     
  8. GrimmGreen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #8
    i'd love to see the validity of this. Anyone successful?
     
  9. maximus96 macrumors 6502a

    maximus96

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #9
    all the 1.1.2 apps show up after adding repo.us.to to the sources. i haven't upgraded to 1.1.2 yet so i can't try.

    can somebody confirm that with my jailbroken 1.1.1, my steps are to install the oktoprep, upgrade to 1.1.2 thru itunes, and reinstall 1.1.2 iphone apps? do you need to reinstall all the other apps like sketch, nes, etc?

    thanks
     
  10. ohio state fan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    #10
    This method does in fact work. I used this on my 1.1.2 touch and it worked great.
     
  11. p-J macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
  12. REBELinBLUE macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #12
    It probably says that to protect themselves from Apple, i.e. saying if you don't have a license to use the software, don't install it on your iPod.
     
  13. mcb00f macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    #13
    +1
    Confirming I have installed Maps and Weather, both working fine on 1.1.2
     
  14. mattydub thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #14
    Glad I could help guys.
    I do alot of reading before posting anything in the forums...

    I would not lead you astray... ;)
     
  15. ceepee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #15
    Hi, I've added the source, but cant find the apps. Which catergory are they in?

    Doh, nevermind - helps if you type repo.us.to correctly!
     
  16. ohio state fan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    #16
    iPhone apps 1.1.1/1.1.2 foe the itouch. Or something along those lines
     
  17. California King macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #17
    where is resources? There's a tab named sources and I went there and couldn't find an add button. Please explain.
     
  18. madmaxmedia macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #18
    First hit 'Edit' at the upper right. Then a button 'Add' will appear at the upper left.
     
  19. PMB macrumors 65816

    PMB

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New York
  20. California King macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #20
    Does the mail app work w/o any other work? It says mobileMail prep?
     
  21. mattydub thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #21
    install the mobile prep first.

    I believe you have to do this with frameworks as well to get maps to work??
     
  22. iwag macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #22

    Yes! Do the mail and map prep first and then everything works fabulously! Thank you so much-this is by far the easiest way to add apps. BTW I added the 1.1.1 apps since I didn't want to do the 1.1.2. jailbreak first.
     
  23. appleguy macrumors 6502

    appleguy

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #23
    can confirm this works
    running google maps and mail from here (after running the google prep and mail prep.

    thanks for the link
     
  24. lindstrom macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #24
    Yupp, everything seems to be working really well for me too. Thanks to the thread starter for the link!
     
  25. mattydub thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #25
    your welcome... ;)
     

Share This Page