Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.
That securepays.com site looks very sketchy to me. What's strange is that I couldn't find any google references to them ANYWERE ELSE.
 
yeah, i didn't feel all that safe about using that securepays.com. besides from the fact that i've never heard of it before...🙄
 
another guy wants to use www.italy-commerce.com. someone else here mentioned that they never trusted sites with hyphenated names, and i'm the same now as well. the site has that VeriSign 'certificate' thing, but then it just links to the VeriSign site. if you click on one of them, shouldn't it say if it's a authentic site or something, instead of just going to VeriSign's site?

another dodgy thing is that italy-commerce doesn't come up on Google with anything.

i know there must be heaps of fake sites out there and now i'm getting sick of sifting through all of them.

is there any site where they post the names of fake sites, or where you can report sites if you think they are not legit?
 
Definitely not a good idea. I agree with everyone else. Stay far away, because you won't get nothing after you send the cash. Word of advice... Western Union is a great service in times of emergency. I use it quite often.. although to people who I actually know. An alternative to Western Union, is using an escrow service. With the latter, caution should be taken for there are numerous "escrow scam sites" floating all over the net. If they don't agree to the run the deal even if you take responsibility on all escrow fees... drop it. The only legitimate escrow service is from http://www.escrow.com

Good Luck! 😎
 
yeah i'm only going to use one of those escrow sites that are mentioned on the eBay site.

on that italy-comerce site they even had a 'VeriSign' certificate, the little gold seal image. but when you clicked on it it went to the VeriSign site, didn't show that actual 'certificate'. and they had a pic of the old seal, so i reported the misuse of that to VeriSign.

I just wish there was more you could do if you had a feeling that a site wasn't legit, without filing a fraud after you've lost your money.
 
Re: eBay - is this guy for real? nope is not

don trust that guy!, i had this bad experience b4, i lost my money 600 euro, i was ordering the cinema display 20", the guy give me an offer by using securepays, till today notthing happend, i did not receive the goods... i won't be able to contact them...... anymore.... better watch out for this guy " Richard ulman"😡 😡
 
help.....

i was register in securepays, now i know thats this site is gone, can anyone help or may be i can get my money back???? plsss🙁 😕 🙁 😕
 
Sorry to be blunt, but tough. Anyone who can believe some of these scams needs to take a deep breath. There are so many reports of e-bay scams on the net, and these people are raking it in. I think you will find that when they say that you can put the money in someone else's name this is because they don't actually need a lot of ID to pick it up, it is password protected.

For example, you send Mike Smith the money, but put it into an account for Steve Jones. You give Mike the Password 123456 so he can check the money is there. When he goes to make the collection, he just needs the password - anyone could make fake ID and a password is much more secure. Now he has your money, he moves on to the next victim.

When they seem to be a really nice e-bayer who has traded loads of times, I bet the values are noway near the value of what they are now selling. Usually they will have several items for thousands of dollars each. They have stolen this valid ID. Everything else that the genuine person sold would have been from the registered address, say New York for example. Suddenly this person is supplying direct from the UK, but from Italy, and you need to contact them via a different email address.

There are some genuine bargains on e-bay, but anything that seems like an amazing offer will most certainly be a scam. I went on a campaign a few months back with regular communications to e-bay informing them of these scammers. I successfully got over 200 of these fake auctions removed, and was informed that several agencies across the US and Europe were now taking these issues rather more seriously.

A genuine e-bayer will always be more than happy to work with you, and will not make rules that you won't be happy with.

Be careful guys, so many people have lost so much money.
 
today, i got the same thing happening to me.

i was bidding on an ibook on ebay and i got these emails about a powerbook 17" for $1200 euros.

website: http://www.altexitaly.o-f.com/

i was just about to buy it and the money was going to be transefered through western unioun

now that you guys have told me, i no i NEVER trust someone on ebay... it was just too good to be true...
 
This guy is a JOKE! FRAUD!

This guy is FRAUD!!!! i got caught i lost 600 Euro's!!! he collects his money through western union. DO NOT MAKE any transactions with this person!!!! pure FRAUD!!
the site he forwards you to is http://www.altexitaly.o-f.com/ this site is fake and there are others involved who will forward you to this site, watchout!! ebay users forerunner2 might be involved and cristianhi. This is site is under investigation. BEWARE 😱
 
Re: This guy is a JOKE! FRAUD!

Originally posted by saab74
This guy is FRAUD!!!! i got caught i lost 600 Euro's!!! he collects his money through western union. DO NOT MAKE any transactions with this person!!!! pure FRAUD!!
the site he forwards you to is http://www.altexitaly.o-f.com/ this site is fake and there are others involved who will forward you to this site, watchout!! ebay users forerunner2 might be involved and cristianhi. This is site is under investigation. BEWARE 😱
All that fancy hardware and no cables and/or accessories -- the crap that supposed to be profit and it's nowhere to be found.

Almost as funny as the guy who plastered to logos from electronics manufacturers instead.
 
DON'T DO IT

Hey, I didn't read all the other posts so I'm not sure if someone already said this but DON'T DO IT. It's really easy to make a fake i.d. and get the money from Western Union after you give him your name. Just a little advice--I got scammed.
 
http://www.altexitaly.o-f.com/

They advertise the 17" powerbook yet have a picture of the old 15" TiBook. Guess they're not trying very hard.
 
Originally posted by cb911
yeah i'm only going to use one of those escrow sites that are mentioned on the eBay site.

on that italy-comerce site they even had a 'VeriSign' certificate, the little gold seal image. but when you clicked on it it went to the VeriSign site, didn't show that actual 'certificate'. and they had a pic of the old seal, so i reported the misuse of that to VeriSign.

I just wish there was more you could do if you had a feeling that a site wasn't legit, without filing a fraud after you've lost your money.

There was an article on MSNBC.com where an ebay scammer revealed how he conned people - basically first what he did was send out emails to people posing as an ebay employee asking for passwords and what not. People that fell for it would send him their passwords; he would then use their accounts to sell bogus items, and naturally, use an escrow service that was fake.

Here's another article on MSNBC that talks about scammers using fake escrow services: http://www.msnbc.com/news/846795.asp?0cv=TA01
 
what's interesting is that two of the previously mentioned websites (securepays and another one) are just woosh! gone now. crap placeholder sites.

It's scary that it's so easy to fall into that kind of a trap. I get super-uneasy about buying large items online.
 
have him front it

tell him if he doesnt sell it and if will front it, mention that you have references, or If you can get a go between, say a moderator on the board
 
I also notified ebay about a few scams I came across months ago. It was the same sort of thing, great pb + cinema for next to nothing. Scams are everywhere, but there is no need to completely distrust people who sell on ebay. Basically, if the sellers refuse to go through ebay's payment methods then ebay will NOT provide any protection to the buyer, as far as I can see.
 
I work for a Lawer and 1 Client did this amd Lost her Money DON'T USE WESTERN UNION and Get a check on the Address if Possible
 
Originally posted by ima_pseudonym
The set-up with western union is the same as a bunch of those Nigerian inheritance scams - wire the money in a different name and I'll check to see if its there, etc...
One other thought though---there is nice account online somewhere (sorry, don't have the link) of someone who managed to get a buck or two out of one of those Nigerian scams after establishing a long correspondence, leading them on, and then insisting on a show of good faith...

Go to www.419eater.com and do some light reading (look for 'the tale of the painted breast' - good light entertainment (and I guarantee you won't buy a powerbook from eBay with a Western Union cheque, ever).
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.