eBay memory too fat, system beeps

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jbachandouris, Mar 14, 2014.

  1. jbachandouris macrumors 68040

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #1
    It's labeled 1066MHz and 4GB, but they don't fit. Pops out of the socket.

    I've been running 4GB just fine. I just wanted to satisfy the upgrade bug. Would an SSD or hybrid drive be a more logical upgrade?

    I only use the Mac for web surfing and iTunes.

    Should I try a more reputable memory dealer or buy and SSD or hybrid drive?:confused:
     
  2. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #2
    What do you mean memory too fat? That makes little sense. With ram you have to buy the right specification, but that wouldn't make it pop out. It sounds like you're not seating it properly. Even then it's possible to get bad sticks. I don't personally buy unbranded memory where I don't know the source.
     
  3. nickandre21 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    #3
    Since you already have 4gb and you only use it for web browsing and itunes there would not be much of a difference to you besides the money spent. If everything is working fine without hiccups leave it as it is.
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    If its not fitting in correctly and popping out, are you sure you have the correct ram for the computer?

    As for your other question, yes you should look to buy it from a more reputable source, I recommend Crucial or OWC
     
  5. jbachandouris thread starter macrumors 68040

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #5
    Too fat, as in the width of the sticks will not allow them to stay seated. They won't click in.

    The right RAM? The specs are correct. PC-8500, 1066Mhz. 4GB.

    I'm no newbie. I've done PC repair before. I've never ran across this before. Usually memory just snaps in and stays in.

    Serves me right to try and save some money. The memory was only $65 shipped.
     
  6. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #6
    It has to be DDR3 204-pin.
     
  7. jbachandouris thread starter macrumors 68040

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #7
    It has the right amount of pins. The height of the chips on the sticks is the problem. They won't stay seated.

    Verified that they are 204 pins.
     
  8. definitive macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
  9. jbachandouris thread starter macrumors 68040

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #9
    No response yet, but it's only been a day. This seller has lots of feedback, so I'm sure he'll respond.
     
  10. definitive macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #10
    Hopefully they'll allow you to return it. According to everymac.com, the system can run 8GB and 16GB RAM. I'm running 8GB of Crucial RAM on my system, and it fit just fine.

    If you're thinking of getting an SSD, then some good drives are Samsung 840 EVO and Pro, along with the new Crucial M500. The Crucial has lower write speeds, but it's also a very good performer. I don't remember exactly which controller your system has, so it might not be able to utilize the full speed of these drives, but they will still work faster than what Apple installed in there by default (5400rpm?).
     
  11. jbachandouris thread starter macrumors 68040

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #11
    What are your thoughts on hybrid SSDs? Seagate has a 1TB with 8GB SSD,
     
  12. definitive macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #12
    i remember the original seagate was flaky, but they supposedly fixed the revisions from getting all kinds of errors. personally i've not used one, so i can't help you there. i got a samsung 830 for my mbp.
     
  13. Graeme43 macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)
    #13
    I have gotten a 1TB SSHD from seagate to replace the Apple HD in my MBP 2.4, 6GB ram and the difference is brilliant :D It boots like an SSD and the OS feels like its running from one :)

    I do have a 120GB ssd in my Mac Pro. Maybe I should compare boot speed
     

Share This Page