ebayed a 2015 RMBP did I buy the wrong one?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Anarchy99, May 2, 2018.

  1. Anarchy99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #1
    Im upgrading from my fully loaded but intermitent mid-2012 RMBP so ofcourse I wanted the fully loaded 2015 model as its the best Macbook Pro
    (yes Im one of those people (possibly crazy possbily one of the only sane) mac users that consider the touchbar macbook pro gross

    anyway it was kind of a impulse decision and i didnt notice macbookpro2.png

    Anyway looking at other sales, I noticed that some look like
    image.png
    Anyway checking everyMac I see that there are Iris pro only versions with 1.5 gigs of vram or Iris pro & a Radeon 370X with 2gb vram

    Long story short
    Did I buy the wrong model on impulse?
    The seller admittedly claims to not know much about computers ( which is probably why I got a good deal on it )but his IT department told him it should have both

    I suppose worst case scenario I could pay for it and then PayPal dispute if it's wrong but I figure why have the guys ship it and go through the hassle if he typoed the specs in the ad

    Thanks
     
  2. Schranke macrumors 6502a

    Schranke

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #2
    Press system report and go to graphic/display.
    if it have both you will see two entries there. it will only change in about this Mac when using the other graphic card
    like this
    [​IMG]
     
  3. jerryk macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #3
    First, the IT guys are correct. If it has a discrete GPU is has that in addition to built in Intel GPU.

    To see, press the System Report button on that screen. Scroll down to Hardware then look at Graphics/Display. It will show AMD Radeon M... if it has a discrete GPU.
     
  4. Darmok N Jalad macrumors 65816

    Darmok N Jalad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Tanagra
    #4
    What do you plan to use it for? While the Iris Pro isn't going to be as fast as the Radeon, it's still no slouch in everyday tasks (it usually gets included in OpenCL acceleration on Adobe programs, for example). You have the side benefit of not having a separate GPU that can go bad, which can be a real concern on MBPs, from what I gather.
     
  5. Anarchy99, May 2, 2018
    Last edited: May 2, 2018

    Anarchy99 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #5
    Considering intermittent graphics issues is why I'm upgrading the fact of one less part to fail is nice but my OCD can't stand the idea of A downgrade and the Nvidia 650m my old one has is more powerful
    I dont use it for what I'd consider much at my current job only light Photoshopping, cad in sketchup and excel.
    My previous contract it was a few VMs, 2 to 4 logmein remote sessions, Skype and a few miscellaneous tech support tools

    I move jobs frequently so who knows what it will be in 6 months

    I do however know the interface could be choppy with spaces/full screen with my two 2560x1600 monitors I use.

    Just in general I was bummed out mine was dying but at the same time hopping for a upgrade
     
  6. Darmok N Jalad macrumors 65816

    Darmok N Jalad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Tanagra
    #6
    You mean GT650M? The 2015 2.8GHz model has the 4980HQ, which is the Iris Pro 5200. Anandtech has it performing somewhere between the NVIDIA GT640 and GT650M. It might be a little slower, but it's not terrible. You still get to see the gains from the newer Intel CPU and other subsystem upgrades, so overall you are still moving up. I can see where you're coming from though.
     
  7. Anarchy99 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #7
    Yes I did mean the GT650M and i do imagine your right
    I expect minor CPU performance increases going from the older 2.7ghz to newer 2.8ghz but I expect the most noticeable increase in the SSD and as a added bonus I like that down the road I can consider a SSD updrade via a m.2 adaptor which was definitely not something I could do with the 2012s sata based SSD
     
  8. Darmok N Jalad macrumors 65816

    Darmok N Jalad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Tanagra
    #8
    Your old MBP has the 3820QM, which boosts to 3.7GHz, while the 4980HQ boosts to 4.0GHz. Add in the improvements going from Sandy Bridge to Haswell, and you’re looking at anywhere from a 10-25% improvement on the CPU side. If you’re going to an SSD for the first time, it will be no contest when it comes to “feel.” ;)
     
  9. wbynum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    #9
    If the listing says it has the discrete graphics and you would be happy with the integrated graphics, I'd just ask for $100 off or something.
     
  10. Ma2k5 macrumors 68020

    Ma2k5

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #10
    It is the wrong one as it isn't the "fully loaded" 2015 model you wanted.

    It's not a bad machine to be honest - and as some have mentioned there were dGPU issues on various MacBook models. I had the mid-2014 rMBP with just iGPU myself and it was the best laptop experience to date.
     

Share This Page