EDGE outage in Dallas/Fort Worth?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jbuckner, Apr 13, 2008.

  1. jbuckner macrumors member

    jbuckner

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #1
    This whole weekend I couldn't pick up a EDGE signal anywhere in the DFW metroplex. I have the capital E icon on the menu bar of my iPhone but no service.

    When I open Safari on my iPhone and connect to a page; it displays a error message that it can't connect to the server. It works fine when I'm around a WiFi signal, no so much over EDGE.

    Anybody else in Dallas/Fort Worth experiencing this? Or is my 2 month old iPhone fried?
     
  2. jeniferkey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #2
    Driving around Fort Worth, internet worked ok on Sunday. Using it at home on Saturday, Edge would pick up when I got out of WiFi range and worked.
     
  3. xboxer75010 macrumors 6502

    xboxer75010

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Location:
    Carrollton, TX
    #3
    Its working for me right now.
     
  4. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
  5. jbuckner thread starter macrumors member

    jbuckner

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #5
    What the hell? lol I guess it's my phone then. Even today I was without service, except when I could pick up WiFi.

    Genius bar here I come.
     
  6. skwoytek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    #6

    It could very well be your phone.

    Have you tried reseting the phone? In 8 months, I've lost EDGE two or three times. The first time I didn't know much about the phone and it lasted hours. Turned out a reset was all it took to fix it. The next two times I lost EDGE a reset fixed it immediately.

    Good luck at the Genius bar, they have been great for me.
     
  7. Bambeezer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #7
    A co-worker with an iphone had problems today at lunch getting stock quotes and weather updates on his iphone. He could place and receive calls.
     
  8. Lancetx macrumors 68000

    Lancetx

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    I had problems immediately after the severe storms rolled thru early last Thursday morning, but EDGE has been working fine for me in D/FW since.
     
  9. jbuckner thread starter macrumors member

    jbuckner

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #9
    Woo Hoo! I did a reset via the Settings tab and I'm up and running.

    Thanks for the help.
     

Share This Page