EDGE Outage?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by c84216, Jan 31, 2008.

  1. c84216 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #1
    Is anyone else having difficulty getting onto EDGE related services? I've had a "Could not active EDGE" message all day. My e-mail last updated 8:09 this morning and that's it. No EDGE since then.

    I'm just curious if this is something people are having trouble with or if this is something isolated (I'm in Springfield, Missouri).

    Thanks!
     
  2. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #2
    I just read on a blog that AT&T's EDGE servers are down.
     
  3. AGSHender macrumors regular

    AGSHender

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    #3
  4. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #4
    T-Mo's were down too, so it must have been big. Back now, though.
     
  5. Ames macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #5
    I have no Edge on my iPhone this morning. Strange thing is my Windows Mobile device (ATT Tilt) has been fine the whole time. It's a 3G device but here in Iowa we only have Edge.
     
  6. amik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #6
  7. SIUGRAD99 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #7
    I'm calling AT&T and they can credit me some $ for this. I pay $20 a month for a service that goes in and out frequently. I was without access for 6 hours today so they can compensate me for the time I was without the service I pay for.
     
  8. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #8
    Hopefully they'll credit you more than this, but 6 hours of your internet being out is only worth 16¢ of your monthly bill. :eek:

    You pay $20 month for data, which works out to 66¢ a day.
    6 hours = 25% of a day, so 25% of 66¢ = 16¢. :D
     
  9. SIUGRAD99 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #9
    I pay for a service to be available when I need it so there is more then just a calculated value to determine here. I am sure they will just give me a simple i'm sorry, but atleast i'll feel better letting them know what i feel.
     
  10. avaloncourt macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #10
    Must have been a regional thing. I had EDGE access all day across about half of Pennsylvania.

    Edited to add: According to reports the outage spans an area from Chicago to Kansas.
     

Share This Page