EDGE problems on T-Mobile 1.1.4 UK iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by James17, Apr 16, 2008.

  1. James17 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #1
    Got an iPhone last week from a reputable seller on Ebay. It is unlocked and has 1.1.4 software on it. I went to Italy so turned off data roaming incase extra charges. I came home today and I have installed some apps from the Installer App program. I turned Data Roaming back on. Now there is just a small rectangle icon at the top of the screen with Wifi turned off. I don't know if edge is working anymore or how to find out if it is but I can remember it working when I set it up last week.

    Any suggestions or help would be gratefully appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Top-Slacker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    #2
    Hi,

    I'm planning on buying an iPhone then unlocking and using with T-Mobile UK, so whilst researching I came across this;

    http://aralbalkan.com/1052

    I believe it should fix your problem. :)
     
  3. James17 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for your input. I changed the password to user but the rectangle still stays there after restart.
     
  4. Top-Slacker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    #4
    Hmm, in the comments section someone posted this combination;

    general.t-mobile.uk
    user t-mobile
    pass one2one

    Hopefully you'll have more luck with that one.
     
  5. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #5
    Blue rectangle means you have a data connection.
    This is normal so do not worry, it will change to the "E" logo when you have an EDGE connection, the blue rectangle merely means that there is a GRPS connection right now.


    hope this helps.
     
  6. sananda macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #6
    as sparky says the blue rectangle is perfectly normal; it means you have GPRS reception. it turns to an "E" when there is EDGE reception, but since t-mobile don't have really have EDGE you won't see it much or probably at all.
     
  7. James17 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #7
    I'm glad it isn't a problem, I was worrying there. I only got it last week. Thanks for the reassurance. iPhone is excellent. :)
     
  8. James17 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #8
    Thanks. I'm satisfied now.
     
  9. Ol!ver macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
  10. James17 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #10
  11. bluesnoop85 macrumors member

    bluesnoop85

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Location:
    On Earth!
    #11
    hello fellow iphoners!

    1st time poster here:cool:

    i too am planning on buying a iphone very soon and unlocking. but before i did i just wanted to make sure.
    Once unlocked and using t-mobile (UK) data package - web'n'walk. There will be no extra charges when accessing the internet/email. I have read in a couple of places that someone got charged for connecting to the internet even though they had w'n'w, as a GRPS connection. It could be possible they never had the correct details. Also i have read using the details mentioned some people when they restart their phone or disconnect from the internet the details disappear meaning they have to re-type them each time. Has this happened to anyone?
    Its seems you guys on here arent having any problems - so far. I just wanted to be reassured 200% that purchasing w'n'w will be no problem in terms on accessing and not being charged again.

    thanks for your help.

    Snoop
     
  12. Ol!ver macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    #12
    I use T-Mobile and w&w and have no problem. had a couple of bills and they're as they should be.

    If you're unsure of what settings to use, try here: http://www.the-iblog.com/guides/gprsedge-settings/

    Cheers

    Oli
     
  13. bluesnoop85 macrumors member

    bluesnoop85

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Location:
    On Earth!
    #13
    Great cheerz Oli, definite a confidence boost :). How are the speeds with w&w for email, wap websites - news tech, sport etc.

    thx again.
     
  14. Ol!ver macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    #14


    It's fine for anything that isn't too image intensive. Email is obviously fine too.
     
  15. bluesnoop85 macrumors member

    bluesnoop85

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Location:
    On Earth!
    #15
    Ye kool. I used to have w&w on my MDA. which i used for email most of the time, and facebook odd times. i never used to go over the monthly 'fair usage' which is 1gb i believe. I even used to listen to internet radio sometimes lol.

    you obviously locked it - which tool is the best in your opinion?

    thanks again for ur help.
     
  16. Ol!ver macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    #16
    I used Ziphone. There's a guide on the blog. :)
     
  17. cBoJlo4! macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #17
    help !

    hi, I used those EDGE settings

    safari starts to load , but the edge never starts working, the whole browsing just randomly stops... and there isnt an error in the end ... Im using Iphone 1.1.4 Unlocked + jailbroken. can someone help me please, using webnwalk for 2.50 pounds for 5 days, help plz!
     

Share This Page