edit mpeg 4/aac in final cut pro... how?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by whyrichard, Apr 15, 2007.

  1. whyrichard macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #1
    Hello mac people,


    i have an mpeg 4 movie, with aac audio.


    what do i need to do to be able to edit this in final cut pro?

    which program do i use?

    thanks,
    r.
     
  2. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
  3. whyrichard thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #3
    really?

    .dv?

    not avi?

    thanks!
    r.
     
  4. -DH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville Tennessee
    #4
    I'd use MPEG Streamclip to convert to a QT Movie that matches your FCP Sequence settings - NOT to .dv iMovie uses .dv natively - not FCP.

    Or, you could upgrade to FCP 6 (being released in May). According to Apple's QuickTour of FCP 6, it will handle multiple codecs and frame rates on the same Timeline without the need to transcode. For details, see: http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore.woa/wa/RSLID?nplm=MA886Z/A

    -DH
     
  5. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
  6. whyrichard thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #6
    a little confused....

    i used that program to export as dv, used default settings....

    now i have video files that are quite large. quite quite large.

    settings are:
    apple motion jpeg A, 720x416. 16 bit integer, stereo 44.100khz

    fps: 23
    data rate 3.87 MB


    OH my!

    what is the easiest way for me to get these files down to a respectable size? they shouldn't be this big at all...


    due to an inability to get a final cut pro copy in time, i have to use adobe premier on a windows machine.... files play, but they need to be rendered! taking forever... forgot the anguish of video editing, never figured this part out very well....


    r.
     
  7. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #7
    you don't want the motion jpeg codec....

    in mpegstreamclip, export as quicktime movie, choose DV NTSC for the codec, put it at 100% quality.

    the files will be big. DV is 13gigs/hour
     
  8. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    Adobe Premier used .avi so you would need to transfer the video to .avi. And yes DV footage is large.
     

Share This Page