Edit Screen Grabs?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by 0vechkinisgod, Oct 11, 2010.

  1. 0vechkinisgod macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #1
    I am trying to create a step-by-step walkthrough for a class about something. I have just been introduced to the "screen grabbing" mechanic and it is very helpful. What I am having problems doing is adding arrows to the picture to point out certain things in the screen. I have been putting the Grabs in a Word document and whenever I try to add an arrow it just covers up the Grab. Does anyone know how I can do this? Thank You.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    You can add arrows directly in Preview with the "Annotate" function...
     
  4. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #4

    Before you put the grab in the word document.
     
  5. 0vechkinisgod thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #5
    I open the Grabs in Preview, but when I try to use the Annotate function, they are all greyed out.
     
  6. 0vechkinisgod thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #6
    Like this...
     

    Attached Files:

  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    Use this icon on the toolbar:
    ScreenCap 12.PNG
    If you don't see it on your toolbar, click View > Customize toobar:
    ScreenCap 13.PNG
     
  8. 0vechkinisgod thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #8
    I finally got it!!! That last info about putting that option in the toolbar was the kicker. Thank you so much!!
     
  9. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    I use Little Snapper from realmacsoftware. It greatly simplifies the screen capture/editting/annotating and uploading of screen shots. I highly recommend it.
     
  10. FourCandles macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #10
    Are you guys both on 10.5? Unfortunately, on 10.6 that nice dropdown button has gone, replaced by this simple button:

    screen04.jpg
    Which activates this toolbar down the other end of the window:

    screen03.jpg
    Which is not as simple to use IMHO. Progress...
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    Yes, I'm on 10.5.8. Just one more reason why I'm not in a rush to switch to 10.6.
     

Share This Page