Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dtechlogic

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 15, 2011
Hi Guys,

bought my mac pro like three weeks ago and now i have video footage that i am ready to edit. THey are AVCHD footage like three hours. Will it be ideal to use FCS or Adobe CS 5.5 premiere. I am still learning the ropes. If i use FCS i know i have to log and transfer but were do i change it to prores 422 something like that. What are the steps will i follow and will the footage keep their quaility after the transfer or it down grades. This will end up on one DVD or two depends the lenght after editing. Please advice on this. What is the ideal setting so that the quality looks good on DVD when watching it on TV.

LethalWolfe

macrumors G3
Jan 11, 2002
Los Angeles
Adobe will allow you to edit the AVCHD w/o transcoding it but the performance might not be what you want unless you have a beefy machine.

Using Log & Transfer w/FCP is pretty straight forward and covered in the manual. You shouldn't have any worries about transcoding into ProRes (I'd recommend ProRes LT) because the AVCHD compression is where the footage gets kicked in the nuts.

Making a good looking DVD can sometimes be a challenge all by itself. My typical approach is to export a same as source movie from FCP, drop that to Compressor, apply the DVD preset that is closest to the length of my project and then tweak quality settings as high as they'll go w/o running out of space on the disk.

Lethal

dtechlogic

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 15, 2011
I will try that at home. I did not received the manual with mine. it sucks.

Anyways here is my mac spec. 8 core 2.4GHZ 16GB of memory 4TB of space Ati Radeon 5870.

LethalWolfe

macrumors G3
Jan 11, 2002
Los Angeles
Manual should have come as a PDF and is accessible from the Help menu in FCP. If for some reason it's not there I you can download the PDF from Apple, here.