Educate me on drag and drop

Discussion in 'macOS' started by HyperX13, Jan 8, 2010.

1. HyperX13 macrumors 6502

I will come off as a total noob here and I apologize.

Since I put on Snow Leopard and can't use contextual menu's FileCutter, I am having a hell of a time dragging and dropping files. Let me explain. I have a NAS folder full of folders. Each folder is a date. So Jan2009, Feb2009, etc. There are 100+ folders. When I drag a new folder into the NAS folder, I ALWAYS end up accidentally dragging the new folder into some sub folder instead of the root. The filecutter was a perfect tool for me to cut and paste files. Anyone have any ideas where to drop a file, once a folder is open, and make sure that file ends up in the root and not some sub folder?

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

I usually drag it to either a white space or to the column headers ("Name", "Date Modified", etc). There should be a highlight around the root directory window, that's when you drop it.

3. HyperX13 thread starter macrumors 6502

OK, so the space to the right of the date modified, size, and Kind. I expanded the window and that seems to work. Thanks. :)

4. gavin83209 macrumors regular

You can also drag the folder to the icon of the disk on your desktop and it will copy into the root layer.

5. r0k macrumors 68040

r0k