Education discount + finance. Possible online?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by KumaYama, Feb 24, 2011.

1. KumaYama macrumors member

Can I pay a lump sum online, with an educational discount and still get finance on the remainder?

Might have accidentally told the in-store staff I am a lecturer, not a student, which only entitles me to 6% discount, not 15%. I need the 15%!!

Am I able to use my staff number as a student number if I am 'doing a PHd' therefore my card says 'staff'.

Ta. Concerned.

2. rw3 macrumors 6502a

rw3

3. babyt macrumors regular

babyt

I ordered student online and they never asked for verification ... I really AM a student. Just thought that was odd

4. DaftZombie macrumors member

I guess they only check a certain percent of buyers, get caught though and you're screwed.

5. KumaYama thread starter macrumors member

Did you use a campus computer to order it? It won't allow me to access Education discount prices unless I'm logged on at work.

Sorry to be a dunce. Just to confirm. I can pay a lump sum, say £800 up front, then finance the rest, all online and with the 15% student discount?

The extra % makes a huge difference.

P.S. No actual units instore in Newcastle, UK. Expecting them in a 'couple of days'.

6. babyt macrumors regular

babyt

Nope I used my parents pc

Idk about the rest.

7. iStudentUK, Feb 24, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011

iStudentUK macrumors 65816

iStudentUK

You need to be at uni or on a VPN to get the full ~15% off. Or you can call the special number on the website when you press 'education'.

Academic employees of UK universities are entitled to 15% off online or over the phone. Also remember UK students/staff members get a 3 year parts and labour warranty as standard online or over the phone, which is basically Applecare without the phone support.

See here- http://store.apple.com/Catalog/uk/Images/salespolicies_individualHE.html specifically s.2.1 and s.10.1.1.

8. DaftZombie macrumors member