Educational Discount in the UK

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Chezidek, Aug 25, 2008.

1. Chezidek macrumors newbie

Hey. In two weeks I get enough money to buy a new mac, I'm a student and I'm 18 and I was wondering if I was eligible for the educational discount. I'm in Full time education at a 6th form college and would like to go to the Apple Store nearest me and buy my new macbook pro, can anyone confirm if I can go to my local apple store with my credit card, driving license and my college ID and get the discount?:)

Thanks in Advance

2. smwatson macrumors 6502a

smwatson

You will get the discount yes.

It's possible to purchase through the online education store with no ID of any kind at all to prove you're a student. Terrible thing to do mind.

3. SpaceMagic macrumors 68000

SpaceMagic

This is not entirely true. They do do spot checks.

The Apple Store in London will give you the discount I believe. Take something showing your age and enrollment in a college.

4. NStocks macrumors 65816

do you have to be 18 or older, are they really strict on this because I'm only 17 but I start my 2nd year in college. Has anyone under 18 still got their discount?

NStocks

5. carlosbutler macrumors 6502a

carlosbutler

if you do it online they may not even ask, so if you are 18 soon then just get it anyway because then you will be able to prove once they do ask. but if you buy it from the apple store, ie like one in bluewater/london etc then you will need to have some proof of everything, although you can get someone to buy it on your behalf (if you read the terms and conditions)

6. millar876 macrumors 6502a

millar876

if you have an NUS card (even an ascociates NUS card will do) you wont need to worry about spot checks

7. Chezidek thread starter macrumors newbie

I would order it online, but I'm going away for a few days the day after I get the money so I'd rather have it for then :p
    Thanks for the replies

8. muldul macrumors 6502