EE WiFi calling

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MyRomeo, Apr 8, 2015.

  1. MyRomeo macrumors 6502

    MyRomeo

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    I've just updated my iPhone 6 to iOS 8.3 and carrier update 19.1 and seem to have EE UK wifi calling enabled ahead of its launch date. I had to text wificalling to 150 to activate it and it seems to be working just as it should :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Azzin macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
  3. great high wolf macrumors regular

    great high wolf

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #3
    Can you still send SMS messages? I turned WiFi Calling on and it totally broke my ability to send (and possibly receive) SMS.
     
  4. aartoodeetoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    #4
    I turned mine on, it worked perfectly - phone calls and SMS. Unfortunately it completely screwed my iMessage settings to the point that I couldn't send or receive any iMessages. So now wifi calling is disabled again and I had to wipe/restore my phone to get it back to normal. (EE, UK)
     
  5. markhort macrumors 6502a

    markhort

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Seems to be working fine for the couple of days I had it switched on. I've switch the feature off now though, a couple of times I left the house while on the phone only for my call to drop once the wifi disconnected. Slightly annoying.
     
  6. Zxxv Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    is this only really needed in a low signal area or is this a huge battery saving feature that all iPhone users should switch on?

    and how private is it?

    thanks
     
  7. eclipse01 macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #7
    better quality
    going across seas
    more reliable
    does not use minutes
     
  8. Zxxv Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    in UK says it does use minutes
     
  9. eclipse01 macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #9
    really?

    That is weird since it doesn't even use your radio to make the phonecalls.

    it should all be done over a VOIP system
     
  10. Zxxv Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    when I read the details the other day it said it does, it checks the wifi network then sends the info back to the carrier (so they can track you? they say to check the network) and then they use the network and bill you/take your minutes.

    hey its the uk :D
     
  11. My Name is URL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    It does still use your minutes.

    Had it enabled ever since I updated and like it. At work sometimes I don't get any signal and it's great to be able to text and call.

    On another EE related note. Going to get my EE power bar later. It's free so why not haha.
     
  12. Zxxv Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    text cost you 35p to send ;):D getting mine later. Would be better if iPhone just lasted longer though.


    notice any battery drain having wifi calling on? does it improve battery life when in a low signal area?
     
  13. Sgh808 macrumors member

    Sgh808

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #13
    It's significantly improved my battery's viability. At home and work, I enable Airplane Mode with WiFi (hence “EE WiFiCall”) and only use cellular when on the move. I haven't charged my phone since 7am yesterday (15/04) and I'm on 25%.
     
  14. Zxxv Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Interesting way of using. Thanks for the info :)
     
  15. My Name is URL, Apr 16, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2015

    My Name is URL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    I know got the text through to say that haha. Just picked mine up.

    What I do in a low signal area now is put aeroplane mode on and then enable wifi. Seems to improve battery life.

    EDIT: sorry just seen Sgh808's post. Yeah i do that too.
     
  16. Zxxv Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Just picked mine up too. Lady has done about 150 today and will be thankful for the day to be over haha

    Thanks for the wifi calling tip.
     

Share This Page