eeepc

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by TSE, Oct 4, 2008.

  1. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #1
    hey guys i have an apple 20" display, one of the non-aluminum LCD ones. I have a PowerBook G4 titanium 1 GHZ running it. I was thinking abou buying an eeepc 1000h on amazon, but it doesn't have an optical drive. Since both laptops have wireless internet, could I use the PowerBook's optical drive for the eeepc similar to what the macbook air does? Is the eeepc powerful enough to run the apple 20" display with full res? thanks!
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    You have this display, right?

    http://reviews.cnet.com/lcd-monitors/apple-cinema-display-20/4505-3174_7-21048608.html

    Does it even have a VGA port, or do you have an ADC-VGA adapter? The Eee definitely won't drive it on ADC.

    As far as the resolution itself, yes, people have reported no problems using the 1000h at 1680x1050, e.g.:

    http://forum.eeeuser.com/viewtopic.php?id=45132

    As far as using the optical drive on the Powerbook from the Eee, I don't know of any easy / effective way to do that, because you're crossing operating systems. In a pinch you could certainly make ISOs of your CDs on your Powerbook, and then make them available via network sharing or put them on a USB key, but I don't think you would be able to do something like booting the Eee off the PB's optical drive.
     
  3. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #3
    Yea thats the display. I have an ADC to DVI cable.

    I wasn't talking about booting the eeepc off the optical drive, but rather just using the optical drive of the powerbook g4, for like small games and stuff.
     
  4. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #4
    That's why you get no-cd hacks :rolleyes:

    I haven't used a physical CD to play a game in years.. think late 90's here.
     
  5. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #5
    1. no-cd hacks are against the license agreement

    2. i dont want to go through the process for every game

    3. cd hacks can have viruses on them
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    4. You should devise another plan, then.
     
  7. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #7
    Just a note, the EEEPC isn't made for gaming of any kind. It's a netbook, for surfing the web and word processing... nothing hefty.
     
  8. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #8
    +1 , they use GMA945 :eek:. Coupled with an underpowered 1.6GHz Atom (like an 800MHz Celeron)
     
  9. K3mp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    S.E. Louisiana
    #9
    I mount the DMG with toast. Works well with halo. The only downside is that you have to have the DMG available somewhere. With the cross-platform problem I have read/seen that the eee's work well with OSX86.
     
  10. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #10
    I was going to play age of empires II and eqclassic, which is a game that is not come out yet but a game written with code from 1999. I should be fine. :)
     
  11. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #11

    Haha, yeah, what mkrishnan said. ;)


    I'd just try to buy an MSI Wind and hack OS X onto it. It's easy.


    Also, why don't you just get an external DVD drive for the EeePC??
     
  12. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #12
    I was actually thinking that would be the best route, how much does an external USB 2.0 DVD drive cost?
     
  13. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
  14. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #14
    just did. looks like i can find one for around $30
     
  15. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #15
    Yeah, I don't have one for my Eee, but a lot of people at eeeuser.com do. Then I use Linux and don't play games on my Eee.

    Good luck!
     
  16. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #16
    I have an eeePC and I love it for internet and word processing when I am on travel (would love to have a mac that size :) )

    However my model will not do widescreen. It is an older model (the 4G) and Asus has since come out with 3904209384049835384^428340 models since so some of the newer ones may do it.
     

Share This Page