EFI for GTX 770 SC?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Akira28.com, Nov 9, 2013.

  1. Akira28.com macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    #1
    I had a friend of mine selling a barely used GTX 770 SC, so i decided to give it a try. I must admit it looks a little faster and smoother compared to my previous GTX 680 SC Signature.

    Now, my noob questions this time are [given the fact that with 10.8.5 & cuda & nvidia driver manager the card is almost plug and you're almost fine like that]:

    1. Is there a valid motivation why one should have to stay on gtx 680? I mean, the 770 is almost identical and looks like a re-newal of the 680 and its price new is almost a 680 price used.

    2. Is there a tutorialed way to flash an EFI in a 770? I know for someone it's a business, so I can understand if there won't be a tutorial. I'm just aking.
    'cause I noticed the black-maybeworkingmaybenot-screen until the desktop shows up and i remembered after that i have bootcamp too, so I'd need a boot screen. With the 680 that was pretty easy considering the 680 mac edition rom + bios tweaker combo.
     
  2. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #2
    BootChamp is a nice little app that helps with booting to a Bootcamp partition without having to use the boot menu.
     
  3. chiefsucker macrumors newbie

    chiefsucker

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    #3
    The GTX 770 is basically an overclocked GTX 680. My experience is that the former card is a little bit cheaper (especially after the price cut about a week ago) and it is a couple percent faster (due to the overclocking). Both are great and it’s almost the same card.

    Yes, that’s the only reason I can think of while one should stay with the GTX 680. The missing boot screen isn’t a huge problem for most folks though. You can even select the boot volume from the corresponding System Preferences pane without 3rd party utilities.

    I would also love to know if we’ll see a GTX 770 EFI ROM in the future. From a couple of eBay searches it looks like MacVidCards is selling them already.
     
  4. Akira28.com thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    #4
    I tried bootchamp and it's really great.
    New problem: i just bought a second SSD, so i'll need a boot screen.
    I think I'll be forced to sell the gtx 770 even if I feel it working better than the 680.
     
  5. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
    Not a problem. Bootchamp doesn't care if your boot volumes are partitions or whole drives, so the procedure doesn't really change just because you are adding an SSD. I have OS X and Windows on separate internal SSDs and Bootchamp works just fine.
     
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
    If you are in US might be worth having us mod it for you.
     
  7. Akira28.com thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    #7
    Italy

    ----------

    I'll have a SSD with OSX & WIN, the other with just OSX.
    So the problems come when i need to decide which SSD i want to boot from, that's what i meant
     
  8. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #8
    There is always System Preferences - Startup Disk which will allow you to chose your OSX drive to be used from next boot. Clumsy but available.
     
  9. Akira28.com thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    #9
    There are several ways.
    Since i have pci-e adapter i have to power the SSD taking power from MacPro's mobo or from external with a 220V to sata power adapter.
    I could decide which SSD power if i use 2 external power adapters.

    But the target is staying sat with my finger on the alt button and see my beloved grey screen haha
     

Share This Page