eGPU via TB2 on nMP possible?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by wa5655, Apr 6, 2015.

  1. wa5655 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I am curious if this is possible? I have seen this done on MBP before and wondering if anyone tried this on nMP?
     
  2. Synchro3, Apr 7, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2015

    Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #2
    Yes, it is possible. But you have to start the eGPU power after the start chime.

    If the eGPU is already on, the Mac Pro probably won't start, there will be not even a chime.

    You will have only CUDA support on the nMP, no signal.
     
  3. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #3
    We have single display output possible on NVIDIA Kepler cards in OSX on nMP.

    Still having trouble with Windows.
     
  4. Sedor macrumors member

    Sedor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Location:
    Germany
  5. Dandu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #5
    There is many eGPU solution with a solution to start the GPU after a few second, my ViDock (i use a TB to ExpressCard adapter) did that.
     

Share This Page