Ejecting Media via 'Ejector'

Discussion in 'macOS' started by nope7308, Nov 25, 2008.

1. nope7308 macrumors 65816

nope7308

Call me lazy, but I hate having to eject media via Finder. I think I'm justified in my laziness, but I won't get into it here.

Anyway, I found a wonderful little program called 'Ejector' that allows you to safely eject media via an icon in the Menu Bar. One problem though - I have OCD (I'm only half joking).

The icon this program places in the Menu Bar is FUGLY. Is there any way I can change it? I know there is a native icon for ejecting media in the Menu Bar and I would like to use that one instead. I'm new to OS X, so please go slowly...

NOTE:
    The native Menu Bar button only ejects CDs/DVDs and not all media (e.g. HD, Flash, etc.). Hence the need for Ejector. If you're interested, here is the link:
    http://www.jeb.com.fr/en/ejector.shtml

2. NoSmokingBandit macrumors 68000

NoSmokingBandit

Quit the app, then find Ejector in finder. Right-click and choose Show Package Contents. Navigate to Contents/Resources and find "mini-newicon-2.png" and edit it to your liking. Overwrite the original and restart the app.

If you arent too savvy with this stuff ill change it for you an upload the app somewhere, just show me what you would like the icon to look like.

3. nope7308 thread starter macrumors 65816

nope7308

Thanks for the helpful response!

Unfortunately, I have no idea how to edit the image to my liking. I read somewhere that OS X has a native application (similar to Ejector) in which it places an eject icon in the Menu Bar, but that icon only ejects CDs/DVDs. To make things simple, I just want to swap the Ejector icon for that native icon.

I don't know where the native icon is located and I have no idea how to do the proper swap :eek:

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

4. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

SnowLeopard2008