El Cap on an old Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Bbqthis, Aug 14, 2015.

  1. Bbqthis macrumors 6502a

    Bbqthis

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #1
    Lots of 'problem' threads here, so I just thought I'd switch it up and offer my ray of sunshine.

    I'm a user of the iMac/ iPad workflow, but recently enrolled in a supplemental ed class that required the use of photoshop on an laptop. Not wanting to spend much on a machine I'd only need for 3 months, I bought a mid 2010 Macbook Pro 15" with 8gb of ram and a 256g SSD for $350. Being a 5 year old laptop, the battery had over 1000 cycles and only held a charge for about an hour. Thanks to its SSD, it booted up in about 5 seconds.

    After putting the El Cap public beta on it, it boots up instantly and the battery lasts for almost 3 hours.

    Color me impressed.
     
  2. saudor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #2
    difference between 1hour and 3 hours is pretty substantial.. i reckon something was pegging the CPU in the old OS in some way...
     
  3. Bbqthis thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Bbqthis

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #3
    Definitely was something that El Cap brought (or took away), it was a completely clean install of Yosemite with nothing else installed.
     
  4. MultiFinder17 macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #4
    I have 10.11 running on a Mid-2007 MacBook Pro, the oldest machine that it supports. 2.2GHz, 4GB RAM, 240GB SSD, and this thing runs like a dream! Around three hours on the battery that coconut battery says is at 77% health at 750 cycles.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Bbqthis thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Bbqthis

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #5
    I'm definitely a believer in El Cap's ability to give an aging macbook some more life.
     
  6. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #6
    I need an SSD! El Capitan runs well on my machine but would be better with an SSD.
     
  7. Godyrsam0625 macrumors newbie

    Godyrsam0625

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    #7
    I've installed (I think ... as I haven't seen it run yet) El Capitan on a 2008 MacBook Pro. I can't get the machine to boot-up / restart. I've restarted in various ways and the screens and sounds of a start-up act ass usual, but within 2-3 minutes the computer powers-off on its own. I can't even gain access to any trouble / repair features. Any suggestions?
     
  8. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #8
    El Capitan running on my Late 11 MBP runs just great
     

Share This Page