El Capitan and Java

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by richayden, Jun 9, 2015.

  1. richayden macrumors newbie

    Jun 9, 2015
    Hey, spent the day with El Capitan and have it running pretty well, one project was to rid my 2009 iMac of Java. I did all the usual things that are posted all over the web but am left with this pop up alert at startup and at other seemingly random moments it also appears. There are certain things I could not get rid of, i.e., System/Library/Java - don't know if this is what is causing this or not. Any ideas are welcome and appreciated. More info just leads to Java download...

    Screen Shot 2015-06-09 at 8.08.20 PM.png
  2. NetoBullet macrumors newbie


    Apr 3, 2013
    After many attemps, this solved the JAVA issue here:
    1. Install Netbeans Java from here:
    (make sure to download netbeans version!)
    2. After installing, go to /Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/jdk1.8.0_45.jdk/Contents
    3. Open Info.plist and edit it as follow:

    That's it
  3. richayden thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jun 9, 2015
    Were you getting the same notification? Or is this just to get java working with El Capitan?
  4. mgp2015 macrumors newbie


    Jun 20, 2015
    Do I have to uninstall JAVA before installing Netbeans?
  5. ibrad33 macrumors newbie

    Oct 2, 2015
    I have this issue too!
  6. dugbug macrumors 65816


    Aug 23, 2008
    Somewhere in Florida
    You can just disable rootless and use the apple Java install package. I avoid Java in system area but if you need to do it like in Mavericks there is a way.
  7. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Apr 2, 2006
    Shropshire, UK
    It sounds like you have something running at startup that needs java - that prompt is telling you where to go to download it. Have a look at your startup items first and if there's nothing obvious there it could be a service that needs Java
  8. sportsnapper macrumors member


    Mar 21, 2011
    I tried to install the latest version of Java from Oracle so I could install Eclipse. Just wouldn't work, no error message, nothing. Disabling SIP (rootless) let the instal run properly, an I now have a Java pane in system config. Terminal is still stubbornly saying that I only have 1.6 - though the system pane is saying 1.8 as I would expect. Path issue I think?

Share This Page