EL Capitan Appears with New ERROR Sign!

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by gforcee, Aug 29, 2015.

  1. gforcee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    #1
    Hi,,

    i have late 2013 iMac 27"

    i tried to install elcapitan from the app store,, installation didn't complete, and after that i can't boot into Yosemite anymore!!

    i tried internet recovery and i left it for 2 days and nothing has changed, so i decided to make el capitan usb installer in "vmware" using windows and diskmaker then boot into it and try to reinstall El Capitan OS X.. after i booted into the installer partition and apple logo has appeared and progress bar has completed i got this &%$# SIGN! i don't know what is that and i have no idea about this error..
    [​IMG]
    (i don't have backup and i won't do format or clean my files)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. !!! macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    #2
    That's a prohibitory sign. It means that your partition doesn't have a valid OS X install. Have you tried using Recovery HD?
     
  3. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #3


    <sigh> there really is no excuse.
     
  4. n-evo macrumors 65816

    n-evo

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #4
    Installing a pre-release operating system on your primary partition without making a backup of your files: YOLO!

    Anyway. Probably the safest solution is to install OS X Yosemite on an external harddrive and use that to make a manual backup of your files. After that wipe the internal drive and install OS X Yosemite or El Capitan.
     
  5. gforcee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    #5
    what if i use REINSTALL OS? without cleaning my HDD? will lose my data?!
     
  6. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Probably.
     
  7. MJWMac1988, Aug 30, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2015

    MJWMac1988 macrumors member

    MJWMac1988

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Location:
    Western Nebraska
    #7
    What does "cleaning my HDD" or "cleaning my files" mean? Does it mean "erase"? If so, definitely do not do that!

    I completely agree with n-evo. You need to buy an external hard drive and install Yosemite, or maybe even Mavericks, on it (maybe partition the external drive first and use the smallest partition for the OS and the largest partition as your permanent new backup drive).

    If you don't have either the Yosemite or Mavericks installer already on a USB flash drive, do you know anyone else who owns a Mac?

    Wild shot in the dark (I truly am just guessing; but it is based on similar experiences in the past): It's possible that 1.) downloading a Mac OS in VMWare on a Windows PC, and 2.) formatting a drive for the Mac on a Windows PC, even if it was from within VMWare, doesn't work properly, because you are still using a Windows PC. Maybe (just maybe) the Windows PC hardware -- with Windows installed on it as its primary OS -- isn't properly designed to format a drive as Mac OS Extended (Journaled), even if VMWare and DiskMaker both gave you the impression that it worked. At best, maybe it came close to formatting it correctly, but didn't quite succeed due to the possible "interference" of Windows at some point in the process. I've never used VMWare (or Parallels) on any computer platform, so I reserve the right to be completely wrong about this.

    I wish you knew someone else who owns a Mac who would 1.) let you download Yosemite and/or Mavericks from the "Purchases" tab in the App Store (if their computer is the right age) and/or El Capitan and 2.) reformat your USB flash drive using their Mac instead of your Windows PC.
     
  8. !!! macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    #8
    No. Reinstalling OS X without erasing the drive will not loose any data, however, if the drive is malfunctioning in some way, then data loss may happen. The OP should read the warning about beta software and 1. Make a backup, 2. Not install it on their primary partition.
     
  9. n-evo macrumors 65816

    n-evo

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #9
    The OS install went corrupt, so I'm not entirely sure what will happen during the regular install option. It all boils down to how big a risk the OP wants to take. Again.
     
  10. gforcee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    #10
    thnx for you guys!
    i have tried other ways to make usb installer via termenal like:
    ((sudo /Applications/Install\ OS\ X\ 10.11\ Developer\ Beta.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia --volume /Volumes/Untitled --applicationpath /Applications/Install\ OS\ X\ 10.11\ Developer\ Beta.app --nointeraction))
    it's worked fine> booted and installation completed fine,, but after the mac restarted and select language screen has apperd i got another error! :S

    >>
    a mismatch between the mbr and gpt partition maps is not supported<<

    i downloaded the gdisk and installed it on Macintosh HD via termenal and it's installed but the other commands doesn't work! :(
     
  11. n-evo macrumors 65816

    n-evo

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #11
    Again: The safest solution is to install OS X Yosemite on an external harddrive and use that to make a manual backup of your files. After that wipe the internal drive and install OS X Yosemite or El Capitan.

    At this point you risk making things worse. By installing tools like gdisk and messing around with the file system and partitions you'll only increase chances of ending up with a corrupt Macintosh HD with total data loss as a result.
     
  12. MJWMac1988 macrumors member

    MJWMac1988

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Location:
    Western Nebraska
    #12
    gforcee, you really need to take n-evo's advice! It's not as if you will be wasting money, because you will continue to use that external hard drive for years to come.
     
  13. n-evo macrumors 65816

    n-evo

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #13
    I gave it my best shot. Best of luck to the OP! :)
     
  14. gforcee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    #14
    thank you guys for the advise! :) i'll buy a new external HD
     
  15. tripmusic macrumors 6502

    tripmusic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Location:
    MA
    #15
    Now you'll always have some peace of mind knowing you have a back up. I've got 1 time machine back up and 2 cloned back ups with CCC, one is an external and in a fire resistant safe. You can never be backed up enough. Without a back up, years of memories and hard work are lost forever. Apple prompts you before installing betas to back up for a reason. And installing betas aside, HD's themselves can die at any time. Good luck!
     
  16. MJWMac1988, Aug 31, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2015

    MJWMac1988 macrumors member

    MJWMac1988

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Location:
    Western Nebraska
    #16
    That's a relief to hear, and very good news. Please continue to let us know how it goes.

    Don't forget to partition your new external hard drive, and devote maybe 15GBs or 20GBs to the Mac OS partition and several hundred GBs (at least) to the backup partition.

    I also agree with tripmusic. Eventually (some day soon), you should have two backup hard drives, one with Time Machine and another with either CCC or the free BackupList+ (BackupList+ is really good).
     

Share This Page