El Capitan doesn't boot any more!

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by jonywalker, Jul 19, 2015.

  1. jonywalker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    #1
    The installation of El Capitan on my mac book pro retina 15" 2015 seemed to be successful. It worked for while. After I turned the mac into standby mode by just closing the display panel, then it doesn't start any more. I just hear the startup music, but nothing appears on the display. The display is powered on because it is not completely dark, just no content. What's wrong with the mac???
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Why would you hear "startup music"? Do you mean the boot chime (that you would hear when you start or restart your Mac?)
    That's NOT the same as standby, or sleep. When you wake up a Mac that is sleeping, you shouldn't normally hear anything at all.
    What you describe sounds like your MBPro is actually shutting off when you close the lid, when it should be just sleeping.

    When you have that problem, try closing the lid again. With it closed, wait for 15 seconds or so. Then, reopen.
    Does your screen light up then?

    If you get the same problem, and can only "fix" it by restarting, then that's just not working properly. It could possibly be a hardware fault, so your local Apple store can fix for you.

    Or, you can also revert back to Yosemite, as the problem may simply be a bug in your El Capitan beta. You can report that to Apple. Revert back to Yosemite first, just to make sure that the problem is only in the ElCap beta.
     
  3. jonywalker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    #3
    It was the boot chime. But I am sure I didn't shutdown the mac before as I usually did, just standby the mac. After I opened the panel again I heard this boot chime, then I didn't see any thing on the screen any more.
    I tried the recovery mode with command + R, I even didn't see any thing. I assume the El capitan damaged the hardware. Since the mb pro is new, should I turn to the apple warranty?
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    I wonder when you have the power on, and you hear the chime, that you try to shine a bright light into the screen. Look if you see any video elements, such as the menubar, or the dock, or shapes of windows or other items that you would expect to see on the screen. They might be quite dim - difficult to see. If you DO see anything in the screen, then the problem is a simple one - the backlight is not coming on.

    I don't think you can assume that El Cap damaged your hardware. Be sure to try both a PRAM reset, and an SMC reset.

    If you continue to have problems with the LCD backlight, or the video, then, yes, call AppleCare. Should be a simple warranty issue.
     
  5. jonywalker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    #5
    Thanks a lot. The PRAM reset helps. Now I understand the new OS didn't find the startup disk, or something similar.
    I'v never done that since I bought the mac, even though I have had multiple OS updates in the last time.
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    Be sure to set your startup disk. Open System Preferences, then Startup Disk. Click on your boot drive to make sure it is selected. That's all you need to do. It can make a big difference for the time it takes to boot.
     
  7. lssmit02 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    #7
    I had to reinstall 10.11 PB when my mac would lock up on the startup screen, the one with the progress bar. Did so using the recovery partition. This worked for me, and the PB is now running again. No idea what happened.
     
  8. jonywalker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    #8
    I didn' see anything at startup screen in my case, just heard the sound, no apple logo no progress bar. The different behaviour may be resulted from which pre OS version we have had before the El capitan update.

    After PRAM reset it works fine. Thanks again to DeltaMac.
    The boot behaviour of El Capitan seems to be different to Yosemit: the login dialogs appear first then progress bar in user domain. The boot progress doesn't appear at all.
     

Share This Page