el capitan flickering with browsers and ableton live

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gorecki, Aug 21, 2016.

  1. gorecki macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    #1
    Hi!



    I've a 2/3 months macBook pro



    specs:

    MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Early 2015)

    3,1 GHz Intel Core i7

    16 GB 1867 MHz DDR3

    Intel Iris Graphics 6100 1536 MB

    el capitan 10.11.6



    i'm using ableton live 9.6.2 with el capitan osx.

    And every time i'm running ableton and/or any kind of browser at the same time my screen flickers all the time. I don't know what's happening. I tried several things that I found through the internet but nothing solves this issue.

    I think this issue happens also without ableton running but everytime ableton is running is certain that my screen starts this horizontal flickering.

    I never had any problems like this with other os and I don't know if I should deliver the computer back to the warranty or try a different approach.



    any help?



    thanks in advance!
     
  2. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #2
    Reset SMC and NVRAM as a first measure.

    Could you show pictures or videos of it?
     
  3. gorecki thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    I would be curious to know if the flashing is in time with your music?

    Does support at Ableton Live give you any possible answers?
     
  5. gorecki thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    #5
    I don't think there is any synchronization between music and flashing. Firstly I didn't even get that ableton was provoking this because firefox was having issues. but when i started running ableton was even more constant.
    until now i don't have any answer from ableton live forum neither from apple forum support.

    i think i will take it to the store and ask for another laptop cause this doesn't make any sense.

    thanks for your time. if you find any solution please let me know.

    Since El capitan showed up...apple is a mess. and for me is quite a pain in the ass to find a way to downgrade this..as el capitan came with the laptop.

    thanks!
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    Have you run your built-in Diagnostics?
    (Restart, holding the D key)
     
  7. gorecki thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    #7
    al
    all good from built-in diagnostics.
     
  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    Your screen video is hard to see. Does the "flashing" extend completely across the screen? Or is it limited to within a window (such as a browser window)?

    At any rate, you may simply have a software glitch, so you might think about reinstalling OS X. That would be an in-place install, not affecting your other apps and files. You can easily do a reinstall by restarting to your recovery system.
     
  9. gorecki thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    #9

    it goes totally horizontal, from one side to the other, usually at the top part of the screen and down part but sometimes in the middle.
     
  10. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #10
    Your video shows you making the flash appear by moving the cursor up and down.
    Also appears that you use Firefox.
    You mentioned that you use multiple browsers.
    Do you ALWAYS use Firefox as your primary browser?
    Try going in to Firefox Preferences, then Advanced, and switch the various Scrolling and Hardware acceleration settings. Should be 3 or 4, I think - particularly try turning OFF the hardware acceleration setting, if it is on.
    Also, the Smooth Scrolling setting might be affecting your system.
    I don't know if it will make a difference, but it's something that you can try.
    And, not so much of a help unless you usually have Firefox running.
     
  11. gorecki thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    #11

    you totally right about the perspective you see. firstly i thought it was only a problem with firefox. then i tried chrome and still had the same problem. even with safari it happens. after all that i realized that maybe it would be a issue with flash becasue i was reading a lot about flash and el capitan issues therefore i uninstalled adobe flash.

    i did everything that you were telling me to do many times and still remains the issue.

    but in the end i was working with ableton live that created the same issue in a constant way. and i don't need to do anything with the mouse arrow. it just happens while i click play.
     
  12. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #12
    Good...
    Try an OS X reinstall, as I suggested.
    If that doesn't change anything, uninstall/reinstall AbletonLive.
    If THAT doesn't change anything, contact Ableton Live support directly.
    Feel free to try AppleCare, as you do have hardware warranty. But, better would be to try using Ableton Live on another identical MBPro, maybe at an Apple store. They will usually let you install your own software, as a test. It can help you decide if the problem is with your own MacBook, or maybe a problem Ableton Live vs. OS X
     
  13. azpekt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Location:
    hp, illinois
    #13
    welcome to the club mate, I have similar issue with mid2015 rmbp15
    nothing - reinstall, switching to dGPU/iGPU, wifi disable, etc - helps

    so you either bring it to apple store, or ignore it
     

Share This Page