El Capitan issues thread

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by superdx, Oct 1, 2015.

  1. superdx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    #1
    Any happy users with no issues to report at all?

    Mostly smooth on my MacBooks, but on my Mac Pro 4,1:
    • GTX 780 switched back to default OSX driver, but all screens working. Downloaded and installed the Nvidia beta driver and all seems well
    • Can't login to iCloud or Messages, just keeps spinning
    • SSD PCI-E card (OWC Acceselsior) is now showing up on my desktop as a removable disk, a bit nervous that I'm going to eject my primary OS disk!
     
  2. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #2
    MacBook Pro Retina 13" (Mid 2014) -everything works fine.
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    SSD on the PCIe card should report as external, this never changed.
    (It's not removable if it's the boot drive)
     
  4. haralds macrumors 6502

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #4
    All systems: Mail has a bug with entering group addresses. If you enter the group name and follow with TAB or RETURN, there is a good change it will crash the app. RIGHT-ARROW works.

    Mac Pro 5,1 modified with an updated Apple WiFi/BT LE card: Handoff is shown as available in the General Preferences and BT shows support in Systems Report, but it does not work. Sometimes, outgoing Handoff is visible on other systems. This work flawlessly, when booting in to Yosemite.

    Both have been reported on bugreport.com since earlier betas. There appears to have been some work on it, but in the end Apple had to ship...
     
  5. superdx thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    #5
    It doesn't show up as removable in the Finder sidebar, but it does appear on my desktop as a removable disk.

    Snow Leopard, Mavericks, Yosemite didn't have this behaviour, so it was new to me. The PCI-E card was recognised as an internal disk. Anyways, Finder preferences fixed this issue to remove the icon from the desktop. I'm good!

    Fixed Messages/Facetime issue by logging in with another iCloud account and just switching the "send messages from" option.
     
  6. edanuff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #6
    Appears to fix the broken login screen problem with dual 4K displays on the 2013 nMP. Does not fix the lack of 4K bootscreens on the nMP.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    This is interesting, the PCIe card SSD always shows as external on my cMP. Not the desktop icon, they are changeable, but the system info. Do you still have a Yosemite backup boot drive to verify this?
     
  8. Synchro3, Oct 1, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2015

    Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #8
    I cannot select older system volumes, all displayed in gray.

    Need Option-Boot to start from an other volume.
    View attachment 588693
     
  9. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #9
    If you have Nvidia web drivers you have to disable OpenCL in Photoshop otherwise the app will crash if you attempt to resize very large images.
     
  10. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #10
    I had a TASCAM US-1200 audio interface freak on my work machine. Had to revert to Yosemite until they get a proper driver.
     
  11. Synchro3, Oct 1, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2015

    Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #11
    If you have a Caldigit FASTA-6GU3 (Non-Pro) you have to uninstall drivers before you upgrade to 10.11. The unsigned kernel extension (kext) for that PCIe card will crash OS X.

    I did a fresh install of 10.11 with no drivers installed. Howsoever the USB ports of the FASTA-6GU3 don’t work anymore, there is not even power on the USB 3.0 ports. The eSata ports on the other hand work fine.

    My other card, the FASTA-6GU3 Pro is working as usual, drivers in 10.11 already included. Also no problems with the Syntech PCIE Adapter.
     
  12. VAGDesign macrumors 6502

    VAGDesign

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Location:
    Greece
    #12
    Click the lock to make changes. This will let you choose any of the greyed partitions ;)
     
  13. VAGDesign macrumors 6502

    VAGDesign

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Location:
    Greece
    #13
    Installing Latest Logitech Control Center for my mouse Performance MX, had an ACPI error and kernel panic.

    Solution:

    Boot from Yosemite, get Kext Utility (google it to learn more) and put it in your Utilities folder cause it's handy to have.
    Now, open Utilities where your Kext Utility icon is, open Finder to your El Capitan partition and go to: /System/Library
    Grab the folder of Extensions and drop it on the icon of Kext Utility.

    I hope this helps some of you who have same/similar KPs after installing drivers/utilities.
     
  14. Synchro3, Oct 1, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2015

    Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #14
    Ha! That was it! :) Thanks for the tip! Sometimes the things we don't immediately see are the simplest.

    Edit: Everytime you choose 'Startvolume' have to click the lock and enter the password again, that's silly. o_O
     
  15. superdx thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    #15
    Yes, the OWC tech guy said the same thing, and that they should always show up as external. Wonder if it has anything to do with the slot? I did swap it once to move it to an x16 slot vs. an x4 slot.

    I wish I could grab a screenshot but after spending many frustrating hours fixing the Messages / Facetime app last night, I'm not touching my MP's config for a long time!
     
  16. neomorpheus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    #16
    At work, I'm having some DNS issues.

    We have a couple of Qnaps, bound to AD and El Capitan can't find them by hostname, only by IP.

    Network Utility is able to ping them by name.

    Then, a couple of network printers, same issue, can't find them by hostname, only IP, but here is the other problem, NU cannot ping them at all.

    Lastly, Outlook 2011 is completely broken under El Capitan.

    This was on a Mac Mini with a fresh install, not an upgrade from Yosemite.
     
  17. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #17
    That mouse's battery lasts longer without the Logitech software anyway.
     
  18. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #18
    Works fine on my machine.
     
  19. neomorpheus, Oct 1, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2015

    neomorpheus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
  20. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #20
    No, you just need to click the lock in the lower left of the box and then enter your password to access your other startup drives.

    Lou
     
  21. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #21
  22. flowrider, Oct 1, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2015

    flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #22
    My Logitech Performance MX Mouse is working just fine with both 10.11 and 10.11.1. Though after each update I need to un-pair and and re-pair to get the mouse to work.

    As far as the Logitech software (Control Panel, Logitech Control Center) the mouse won't work without it. It's not a BT mouse, but a wireless mouse that requires the Control Center to connect and work.

    Lou
     
  23. neomorpheus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    #23
    Thanks for the info and no, I don't doubt that is working for you, just showing you some links about others having a similar problem.
     
  24. VAGDesign macrumors 6502

    VAGDesign

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Location:
    Greece
    #24
    Performance MX has great battery life to me. Both mouses I have. I am installing the LCC for functionality.

    It's not about the driver, I know it works fine without it. It's about the configuration of the buttons and also the Illuminated Keyboard driver it includes for some function keys.
     
  25. W1SS, Oct 2, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2015

    W1SS macrumors member

    W1SS

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #25
    For those of you that are experiencing kernel panics due to driver incompatibility with ElCap.. I believe I may have found a temporary workaround until manufactures release their updated device kexts/drivers.

    If you upgraded from Yosemite and have not uninstalled the kexts/drivers before the upgrade
    - Disable rootless, shutdown and reinstall the device then power up.

    Fresh install of ElCap (Requires Yosemite kexts)
    - Disable rootless, power up normally, restore kexts/drivers from a "Yosemite" time machine backup or extract using pacifist and install into System/Extensions then shutdown. Reinstall the device then power up.

    Rootless appears to also disable non El Cap compatible kexts.

    YMMV
     

Share This Page