El capitan missing from app store.

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by elf69, Nov 8, 2016.

  1. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #1
    I was trying to reinstall my macbook pro last night but would always crash and show error report.

    So I installed 10.6.8 and it works.

    So open app store search for el cap and not there.
    Searched store in my sierra macbook, not there!

    It shows in my purchased but it will not download on either machine.

    How do I reinstall el cap if not in the store?

    Was going to use my time machine back up but without a battery the usb and CPU is slow and claimed 33 hours to complete!
     
  2. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #2
    It should download from the purchased list... What happens when you click the "Download" button?
     
  3. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #3
    the download goes grey for few seconds then goes dark again as if I not clicked it.

    Will reboot and check all updates have applied maybe that will prevent it upgrading.
     
  4. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #4
    Huh, when I click on it, it prompts me "you're running a newer version, are you sure you want to download?" Then it downloads the installer.

    A restart should clear it up.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #5
    After a restart and doing all available updates it is now letting me download El cap on the pro, then will install El cap from the download.

    must of needed something in one of the updates.
     
  6. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #6
    So it went through the install then error again.

    machine restarted and up come install osx box with loading bar which one again says 24 minutes.

    Is this due to no battery it is doing this?
    Seems to just be trying over again.

    Can I stop it and go back to 10.6.8?
    Think need wait for battery to arrive then use my time machine backup from macbook to upgrade to El Cap.
     
  7. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #7
    Nope just loops.

    Tried to install, error, shows log then restarts and repeat.

    Cannot stop it cannot load back into 10.6.8.

    Have wait til get home and reinstall 10.6.8 from CD.
    Then try upgrade AGAIN.

    But think I give up and wait til battery come and use time machine, last time was only 1.5-2 hours and was running.
     
  8. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #8
    four attempts to on my imac to make a bootable el cap stick failed.

    downloaded el cap twice and tried twice with each download.
    Some error about unable to mount shell.

    Cannot use web recovery as that fails on the macbook pro, 4 fails in row so far.
    and due to no battery will take 30 something hours to recover from my time machine backup.

    think back in bag and wait for battery, so crippled without a battery in it.
     
  9. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #9
    Forget making a bootable USB, connect your imac to the MBP via Firewire cable and start the MBP in Target Disk mode.
    Now run the downloaded install app on the imac and select the HDD on your MBP as the install location.
     
  10. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #10
    I'm so stupid forgot target mode.

    Since seeing the email on my phone spent all day trying find a cable.

    No computer place local has one, except maplin but im not paying £35 for it.
    We do them at work but had day off today, will check our stock when get back.

    my imac has 6 and 8 pin firewire so have a choice.
     
  11. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #11
    After grabbing a 8 to 6 pin cable from work, which we retail to customers at £9.99 BTW.

    2 meters was ample to reach imac to laptop and 35 mins later we had El Cap installed!
     
  12. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
  13. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #13
    Stupid me forgetting target mode.

    Thanks was great help
     

Share This Page