El Capitan Removes Expert Settings for Display Calibration - Alternatives?

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by PowerMac G4 MDD, Oct 17, 2015.

  1. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #1
    Just came home today with a new display for my Mac Pro... but, of course, Apple wants to treat its expert users like retards, so they decided to strip the screen calibration of its expert settings.

    Does anyone know of a good Mac-specific application meant for calibrating external displays? Apple's calibration only allows you to change the native gamma. I honestly can't believe they stripped it of all other settings.
     
  2. PowerMac G4 MDD thread starter macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #2
    NVM, you hold down 'Alt' while in the display calibration... so stupid. IDK why Apple insists on hiding these features like this; it makes me feel like an @sshole just going around and having useful features hidden from me. They obviously don't care about their long-time users. Well, at least I have my middle finger up at them right now, as I have El Cap installed on my 2006 Mac Pro that I got second-hand.
     
  3. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #3
    Apple still kept the expert settings, but added a keystroke to the process.
    Open your Displays prefs, then the Color tab.
    Option-click the Calibrate button.
    There's your Expert Mode checkbox... :D

    Looks like you found it!
    A bit rancorous, are we?
    Nothing too unusual about Apple hiding seldom used settings (by most) under an Option key.
    It's unfortunate that Apple doesn't really feel the need to tell anyone about it, though.
     
  4. Sko macrumors regular

    Sko

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #4
    As a long-time user, I remember that option-click was always the way to unlock hidden features, back to MacOS 7 days ;)
     

Share This Page