El Capitan vs Yosemite

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by accentaudio, Jul 29, 2016.

?

Which Mac OS has the best stability and performance?

  1. El Capitan

    90.9%
  2. Yosemite

    9.1%
  1. accentaudio macrumors 6502

    accentaudio

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #1
    Maybe this topic has been beaten to death, I don't know, but I am really very interested in everyone's opinion on the stability and performance of these two, especially in regards to "Pro Apps" like Logic, Pro Tools, Photoshop, Final Cut Pro etc. If we can keep the topic to just those two things it would be awesome. Feel free to be machine specific too. I am running two nMPs and two 13" MBPs.

    1. Stability

    2. Performance

    Thanks everyone!
     
  2. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #2
    You can always try it for yourself and see how it performs.

    Make a clone of your current drive (using Carbon Copy Cloner) to an external drive. Then you can update to El Capitan and see how it runs. If you like it, you can ditch the clone. If not, you can then clone the external back to your internal and pick up where you left off from the time the clone was first created.

    NOTE that any files created after updating to El Cap will be deleted when cloning back, so you will want to backup all those files before reverting to your OS clone.
     
  3. Apple Master macrumors member

    Apple Master

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    No such thing as an unstable version of OS X.

    Some say El Capitan is faster.

    So far I like the Finder windows better in El Capitan than Yosemite.

    Honestly so far there doesn't seem to be a huge difference. You might as well get El Capitan because Yosemite is limited on running the latest Apple apps.
     
  4. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #4
  5. accentaudio thread starter macrumors 6502

    accentaudio

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #5
    The option to still download Yosemite is available on my machines. I have two nMP machines. I think that option is machine specific.
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Then you must have previously "purchased" Yosemite. What Graham is saying is if you have not previously purchased Yosemite there is now no way to do so and get your hands on it through the App Store and it won't be on your purchased list.
     
  7. accentaudio thread starter macrumors 6502

    accentaudio

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #7
    Oh ok, yeah I have previously downloaded it.
     

Share This Page