El Gato

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Jon.Stewart87, Jun 3, 2008.

  1. Jon.Stewart87 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    United States of America
    #1
    I REALLYY want the new eyetv hybrid for my beautiful 24'' iMac..

    it would be stunning to have next year as I go for my 3rd year in college.

    we'll probably have a standard Time Warner Cable box in our apartment.. can I still use the eyetv? how does this work? I know its not exactly iMac related, but it'll be used on my iMac.. and I trust all of you :D


    thanks!
     
  2. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #2
    Out of the box, the EyeTV products cannot change the channel on most cable boxes. That's the biggest issue.

    http://faq.elgato.com/index.php/faq/more/508

    I have the EyeTV hybrid, but I've only used it with a $30 indoor antenna, which brings in all of my local HD stations perfectly.
     
  3. Jon.Stewart87 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    United States of America
    #3
    so how, exactly, does one watch tv?

    especially after the governments move to no antenna television.. how will this effect the hybrid?

    i figured i fed off the cable box or picked up a signal via the antenna.. i'm quite confused on the whole thing.
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    The government is not moving to no antenna television. They are ceasing the broadcasting of analog TV over the air. The Hybrid can tune in digital channels which will continue to be broadcast over the air.
     
  5. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #5
    Like floptical said, there will always be antenna television. In 2009, antenna television switches to all digital. Analog goes away. This doesn't really affect the Hybrid, as it can pick up both types of antenna television.

    Like I said, I use it for antenna with no problems.

    When I start the EyeTV program on my Mac, it puts the TV picture in one window, and puts a "virtual" remote control in another window. I change channels by clicking in the remote control display. Works just like a TV. It actually comes with a real remote control, but I never messed with it.

    I don't have any experience using the EyeTV with a cable box. Maybe someone else can help out with that.
     
  6. yagru macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #6
    can someone tell me, does the eyetv run nicely in full screen on a 24" or does it run natively at a smaller resolution and has to upscale?

    Id like to know if watching hd stuff via the eye tv on a 24" fullscreen will remain high def
     
  7. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #7
    I don't know what it did behind the scenes, but I never had any problems using the full-screen mode on my 24" iMac.

    I guess there had to be some upscaling done on stuff broadcast in 720p (1280x720) to make it fill up the whole 1920x1200 24" iMac screen, but it looked fine to me.
     
  8. Virgil-TB2 macrumors 65816

    Virgil-TB2

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #8
    I don't get this.

    what do you mean about the cat? :confused:
     

Share This Page