OS X Elder Scrolls Online Gamepad Control ?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Washac, Jun 28, 2016.

  1. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #1
    Is anybody Playing Elder Scrolls Online with a controller since they added the controller patch into the game via the Orsinium DLC ?

    If so which controller do you use and have you any issues with it ?
     
  2. TheBunny macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    DC / Baltimore
    #2
    Hi, I wrote that code, before I left the company back in april.
    Anyhow the code was written and tested with the PS4 controller using a USB cable.
    And with a Xbox one controller using a add on OSX control panel... don't recall the name I think there is just one online and it is free.

    Did you run into problems?
     
  3. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #3
    PS4 controller with cable I get the odd camera spin and on loading the map it just keeps zoomimg out on its own.
     
  4. TheBunny macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    DC / Baltimore
    #4
    Hmm sorry, I have no idea how to fix that.

    Once in while there was bugs like that in the game in general with the mouse.

    You are using and official sony PS4 controller correct?

    Do you own a second one you can try instead?
     
  5. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #5
    Yup official PS4 controller, nope no spare one.
     
  6. Paulk macrumors 6502

    Paulk

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    It says on the website that the game can be played on PC/Mac. Does this mean Mac is OK but only using Boot Camp?
     
  7. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #7
    Nope it means it runs on your Mac providing your specs are up for it, it runs best under El Capitan.
     
  8. Paulk macrumors 6502

    Paulk

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  9. TheBunny macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    DC / Baltimore
    #9
    Hi Paulk, I actually wrote the Mac game client.

    The ESO Mac client runs really well.

    But as with most games performance is better under Windows or bootcamp.

    Your Intel HD Graphics 4000 768 MB, is really on the bottom end of what you need to run ESO.

    Recommended video ram to match a PS4 is 1.5 GB for starters.
     
  10. Paulk macrumors 6502

    Paulk

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #10
    Thanks for that reply, but in addition to my bottom end graphics, my Disk Utility tells me I don't have enough free space left to run the game: some 55 gb quite a bit less than the 80+ gb I would need. 76 gb is taken up by apps...
     
  11. TheBunny macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    DC / Baltimore
    #11
    The games is around 40Gb and the patcher can use up to x2 that or more when installing the biggest patches that had been released.
     
  12. Paulk macrumors 6502

    Paulk

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #12
    The game is much more than 40Gb, I have paid for a game before (some SEK250) and not been able to play it, so I just lost the money. I will not take the chance the same will happen again.
     
  13. Paulk macrumors 6502

    Paulk

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #13
    Since going up to OS Sierra, lots of of extra space is available. Disk Utility shows that I now have 58.18 Gigs free, which is half the total on my hard disk, but ESO recommend for Mac System Requirements is 85 GB free. Is there any way I can safely buy the game with what I have got, nearly 30 GB less than the recommended?
     
  14. TheBunny macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    DC / Baltimore
    #14
    Nope.
    The Game needs like say 60 GB and they PATCHING system can use something like double that on large patches. That is where the issues come in.

    On the other hand external HDs are pretty cheap these days, 50$?
    Could put the game on one of those.
     
  15. Laucian Nailor macrumors member

    Laucian Nailor

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    Chris, good to see you on here. It was always great to get your input in the ES Mac forum, especially with quick problem solving suggestions.
    The 64 bit client move from the original 32 bit was a game changer :)

    Sadly trying to find out if ZoS has a dedicated Mac developer in the team right now and if so, interact with them is a whole house of pain and frustration. Hope the new projects are going well for you.
     
  16. TheBunny, Jan 9, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2017

    TheBunny macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    DC / Baltimore
    #16
    I probably check in here at least once a week.

    >The 64 bit client move from the original 32 bit was a game changer

    Excellent! I worked had to get that all out the door and leave the Mac Client in the best shape I could before leaving. 64 and OpenGL update.

    New Projects... Have not done to much work. Ended up remodeling to bathrooms at home instead so far... Have a few weeks of stuff around the house to do still and after that I will probably be programming full time again on 2 small mobile games. Maybe by spring they will be ready / fun.
     

Share This Page