Electra team releases A12 jailbreak Chimera 1.0.1

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by pdxmatts, Apr 30, 2019.

  1. pdxmatts macrumors 68000

    pdxmatts

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #1
    IMG_4140.jpg

    "Chimera is the first true iOS 12 jailbreak to not only feature a CoreTrust bypass so that binaries don't need to be resigned, but to also support A12 devices, including iPhone Xs, iPhone Xr, and the newest iPads."

    https://chimera.sh/
     
  2. pdxmatts thread starter macrumors 68000

    pdxmatts

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  3. Tig Bitties macrumors 68040

    Tig Bitties

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    #3
    This is exciting news, curious if it's the real deal, solid stable JB for the XS line?

    I don't own an iPhone now, but would be tempted to get one if the phones at TMobile still run the required version needed to be for this JB?
     
  4. thadoggfather, Apr 30, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2019

    thadoggfather macrumors G4

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #4
    I put it on my 12.0.1 XR so far so good... the wait for an A12 jailbreak has never been longer than any other iteration sadly.
    [​IMG]

    Review the compatibility list and tread lightly as always with what you install, but should be ok-
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...oWskAJrKaTXtnh8/htmlview?usp=sharing&sle=true

    The UI for Chimera is straight up beautiful! and Sileo seems alright so far too

    Resprings happen at lightning speed.

    Runs on Substitute of course, since Saurik said he doesnt know when or even _if_ he'll ever update Substrate for A12
     
  5. Chazz08 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #5
    I just have the issue with “error loading preference bundle”. But I had that with uncover, too. Not sure how to fix it. I’ve tried everything I found online.
     
  6. thadoggfather macrumors G4

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #6
    try updating PreferenceLoader from the repo: rpetri.ch/repo
     
  7. Chazz08 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #7
    I’ve already done everything like that.
     
  8. Techman4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2019
    #8
    The app closes when I start the jailbreak process and it closes at step 1.
     
  9. thadoggfather macrumors G4

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #9
    Clear all apps, airplane mode reboot , wait 10 seconds then try

    If you have the OTA iOS update in your storage delete it in settings
     
  10. Chazz08 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #10
    Also, do you have the new version? It was doing that on my iPad last night and the new version they released today worked.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 30, 2019 ---
    This is random, but what happened to the screenshot threads where you could show what you have? That was the best way to find themes. Now when I google it, it’s all these old themes from two years ago that pop up. Haha.
     
  11. Techman4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2019
    #11
    I do not have the OTA update.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 30, 2019 ---
    Do you mean just do a normal restart? I have been looking for solutions everywhere but no luck at all.
     
  12. AndrewR23 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
  13. StellarVixen macrumors 68000

    StellarVixen

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Location:
    Earth
    #13
    Dang it, I wasn't sure when are we gonna get the JB for XS Max (or if we are gonna get it at all), so I upgraded to 12.2. So, no JB for me.
     
  14. memo90061 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #14
    I'm having the same problem, and so are others on 12.1.1 B3. :(
     
  15. Dontpinchme, May 1, 2019
    Last edited: May 2, 2019

    Dontpinchme macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    #15
    Mine fails. It says file system can’t remount or something to that effect. Any suggestions?

    Now it doesn’t go past stage one but reboots and nothing happens. I’ll just maybe wait it out.

    Here’s what I get on my iPhone XS Max running 12.0

    [​IMG]
     
  16. bigjnyc macrumors 603

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #16

    Have you tried all of the steps thadoggfather detailed above? It's working fine on my XS Max

    Most importantly make sure you dont have any iOS firmware files in settings > general > iphone storage

    Make sure you are using the latest version of Chimera

    close out all of your apps and reboot your phone

    make sure you are in airplane mode.... then try it

    you may have to try it a few times. just make sure you close out chimera each time and make sure you stay in airplane mode
     
  17. Dontpinchme macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    #17
    I’ve done all that a few times. It worked on my XR after a few times but I NEVER got this error message during it. Only on my iPhone XS Max. Anyone seen this before?
     
  18. AndrewR23 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #18
    Does anyone know how to un jailbreak it without updating?
     
  19. kretek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #19
    Simply power down and up again.
     
  20. AndrewR23 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #20
    Ah Idk why I assumed this was a un tethered jailbreak. So after turning it back on and re jailbreaking, you gotta reinstall each repo and tweak? Last Q Lol.
     
  21. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #21
    Worked for me without a hitch.

    128GB iPad 6th Gen, iOS 12.1. Not sure about Sileo. It let me log in to my Cydia account but doesn't actually SHOW me as logged in.

    Had to actually purchase Eclipse Dark Mode for iOS 12 - although it does show me as still having Eclipse for iOS 9 and 10. I'm guessing iOS 11 and 12 was an additional purchase then (for Eclipse)?

    In any case I don't have any problems right now. Like my iPhone 5 (jailbroken on iOS 10.3.3) I don't restart my iPad so shouldn't have to recert for quite a while.
     
  22. AndrewR23 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #22
    Does a re spring remove the jail break?
     
  23. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #23
    No.

    A reboot requires re-jailbreaking with the app. If you're using a 7-day recert process (as I do) then you'd need to use Impactor to sideload again and then rejailbreak once 7 days are past.

    But respring? No.

    Therein is the difference between fully-untethered jailbreaks (which my iPhone 6s+ has) and semi-untethered. You have to rejailbreak after every reboot.
     
  24. bigjnyc macrumors 603

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #24
    No everything will go back to the way it was, all of your repos, tweaks and settings.
     

Share This Page

23 April 30, 2019