Electropy Demo Available

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by jonaswills, Nov 24, 2007.

  1. jonaswills macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #1
    Hi Everyone,

    I've been working on a game with some friends and would love it if some of you would try it out and let me know what you think!

    [​IMG]

    We now have a universal binary available, before we only had an Intel version so we'd really like to know how well it runs on some PPC Macs, and trying to figure out some minimal requirements. It should work great on a comp with 32MB video card and 256mb ram, might work with 128mb but not sure.

    Check it out, http://www.electropy.com
     
  2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    Looks fun so I'll give it a go. 12" PB here so you'll get your PPC feedback.
     
  3. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #3
    Ok, so that game is great! Not too hard but not too easy either and what a great concept. It's almost like Bionic Commando only with a twist. Very cool. It works beautifully on PPC.

    I did notice a slight bug:

    When watching the credits the music skips here and there.

    Other than that all the transitions were smooth, music played flawlessly throughout gameplay even when dying or having to use a continue. For a beta, for lack of a better word, it's more stable than a lot of big titles! Great work!

    The only think I though would make it more of a challenge was to require holding space to keep the beam attached. It would also be more natural (sort of like having to hold on yourself). Anyway, just a thought.
     
  4. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    I agree with you QuarterSwede. It's a cool idea and a pretty nice game. The menus and stuff don't look that great but that's just me. Overall it's a great game. Do you plan to add the ability to share and download custom levels? I did notice the unusable editor option.
     
  5. jonaswills thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    Thanks for trying it out :)

    I'm glad you thought it was easy, we have been worried the game was too hard... the game gets harder, much harder. There are 2 additional difficulties in the full version which just get crazy hard! I can see your point about holding down the mouse, I thought the same at first but you get used to it and it is much better being able to toggle the electrope in some of the levels you have to cling on to the same point the whole level.

    Regarding the editor we are going to have the ability to upload/download levels from the website. We've been thinking about adding the ability to do it inside of the game but things get a little weird there. You can catch a glimpse of how the editor works at http://www.gametrailers.com/player/usermovies/104120.html (That trailer is of an older version).

    AND, we've fixed the slowdown issue in the credits in development(not fixed in download yet), for some reason the credits were the most straining part of the game :-D
     
  6. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
  7. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #7
    Well, I downloaded and played the game for a couple of minutes . I enjoyed the demo and will spend some more time playing it tomorrow if I get a chance. Performance, not surprisingly, was perfect on my 2.2GHz MacBook Pro w/ 4GB RAM and a 7200rpm HDD.


    Thanks jonaswills! :)
     
  8. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #8
    Works nice and smooth here, even the credits, but then I'm on a G5. A bit curious as to why there's an option for anisotropic filtering, which is essentially useless for graphics like that. Would rather see FSAA, which I can enable with ATI Displays, but not everyone has that option. Some of the later levels are pretty darn hard, yes. ;)

    --Eric
     
  9. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #9
    Found another bug:

    When using "View Replay" if you pause the playback (enter) and then unpause it (enter again) it zooms out quickly and then jumps back to normal view all while resuming playback.
     
  10. jonaswills thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #10
    Glad it worked for you! The anisotropic filtering is just gonna improve the sharpness of any polygons facing away from the camera. We'll consider adding FSAA because we probably should :-D

    Thanks! You get so used to looking at it the way it is you don't even realize it looks funky like that, haha. The same effect applies if you pause while playing, I noticed.
     
  11. joemama2413 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    fun game, except the actual menu could be redone with a different font, its minor.
     

Share This Page