Elgato EyeTV Hybrid (2009 Edition)

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by futurase, Mar 8, 2009.

  1. futurase macrumors member

    futurase

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Location:
    Fayetteville, AR
    #1
    I have a brand new Eye TV Hybrid and I have it plugged into my USB hub. Installed fine and works fine. After rebooting my iMac (brand new 3.06 ghz 2009 Edition) the software is launched at boot and the box is not checked in Eye TV preferences for it to do so. The remote is on the desktop and the indicator light is beneath the icon on the dock. There is no window for video.

    You can push the play button on the remote and no video begins. You can open a video window and it is just a navy blue window. No Video. You can click on a channel and it works, but not video comes on.

    You can reboot or shut down. Same problem every time.

    Simply unplug the Eye TV from the USB hub for about 10 seconds and plug back in and everything works fine until reboot or shut down. you can shut program down and reboot at will until reboot or shut down of the iMac.

    My USB hub has it's own power source.

    What is going on???

    Thanks,

    Norman Ross Jr.


    **** Problem Solved****

    There is a problem with the new 2009 Edition ONLY Eye TV Hybrid TV tuners from Elgato. The problem is between communications between the software and hardware. Elgato has a new firmware update to solve this. For some reason clicking on the update link within the Elgato software does not download it. A link to the forum is below. The instructions and link are on that page for the fix.


    http://forums.elgato.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=4576

    Norman Ross Jr.
     
  2. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #2
    What's connected to the EyeTV ? Coax. HD ? VGA ?

    It could be the external USB hub is going to sleep. I have the same type of problem except I use a Hauppauge HD receiver.
     
  3. futurase thread starter macrumors member

    futurase

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Location:
    Fayetteville, AR
    #3
    Coax. I am going to hook the Eye TV directly to the iMac and see if it helps.

    Norman Ross Jr.
     
  4. futurase thread starter macrumors member

    futurase

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Location:
    Fayetteville, AR
    #4
    If I plug it in the back of the iMac then after booting the iMac and I click to launch the program the remote pops up and a window pops up and says Eye TV can not operate connected to a USB 1.1 port.

    Unplug the Eye TV, plug it back it and instantly it works again.

    Something odd is going on.

    Corruption with installation??? Only had unit less than a day??? I installed Adobe ShockWave Player 11 this afternoon so my daughter could play a game, but it went fine. Nothing else has changed.

    Everything else on the iMac works fine.

    Norman Ross Jr.
     

Share This Page