Elgato Turbo .264 software update ver 1.1 problem

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by haoqfu, Oct 3, 2007.

  1. haoqfu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #1
    I was wondering if anyone has used the latest update ver 1.1, which i personally think is a big improvement of last version. it adds iPhone support and allow you to customize bit rate, aspect ratio, widescreen support, multiple soundtracks selection and a lot of stuff that you could do on Handbrake.

    Here is a link for Turbo .264 users to download the updated version:
    http://www.elgato.com/index.php?file=support_updates_turbo

    One of the problem that I'm having is that when you drop a video_ts (ripped dvd folder) into the application, it gives the wrong info about the length of the movie, for a 1.5 hrs movie, it tells 3 hrs. Tried a couple dvds, tell almost double length of the actually length.

    Anyone has similar problem?
     
  2. imlucid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #2
    I haven't tried 1.1 yet but a friend was just telling me the other day of the same issue with the doubled length times.

    Kevin
     
  3. haoqfu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #3
    Thanks, i reported to Elgato and see what they say.
     
  4. nick.hobbie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #4
    It does say double the time but when it converts it is only the actual time of the video. My issue with it is that when I open preferences it crashes. I had to send my crash log to them to see what was going on.
     
  5. Shoesy macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #5
    Same here- 'normal' video files seem fine (mine is quite happily converting an avi file and giving me the correct reading right now); dvd files always seem to be wrong tho - I mount mine using fairmount.

    No biggie- just a bit weird really. :confused:
     
  6. Scarpad macrumors 68000

    Scarpad

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Ma
    #6
    Yeah it's a bug, it does'nt really affect anything as the time it shows is usually longer than the time of the content, sometimes thou it's less, and if that happens it doen't encode the whole thing. But that does'nt happen often, I should report this to elgato. THe other issue I have it sometimes it does'nt choose 640x480 for 4:3 content, and sometimes it stutters, so I've done a custom profile where I force 640x480 4:3 and 29.97 FPS, that will generally fix the problems.
     
  7. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 603

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #7
    For those that have the upgrade (and relative to the first post about many of the customizing features of handbrake), does the new version support 2 pass? Does it support choosing the 5.1 channel audio track and saving it in the file as 6 channel (AAC) discrete?

    Lastly, does the new version generate a much higher quality picture (getting in the general area of what you can get with best settings from handbrake)?

    Thanks for any info.
     

Share This Page