elp...just tried to upgrade with new pwnge tool error 1600

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Tuckmonster, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. Tuckmonster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    #1
    i have a unlocked 3g i just tried to upgrade using the pwnge tool and the custom firmware and itunes keeps telling me error 1600..
    can i just do a factor restore or will that screw up my baseband, leaving me unable to unlock
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #2
    You should never restore without a custom ispw. It will screw you over. Are you stuck in DFU mode right now?
     
  3. Tuckmonster thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
  4. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #4
    Before creating the custom ipsw, delete restore files found in ~/Library/iTunes/Device Support

    Then make the ispw again and restore with the new custom ispw.
     
  5. Tuckmonster thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    #5
    awesome thanks... but when you say open up the terminal what exactly do you mean... where? within the phone or in my computer?
     
  6. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #6
    I meant Terminal.app on your MacBook Pro. But it doesn't matter, I think there's a better method.

    Before creating the custom ipsw, delete restore files found in ~/Library/iTunes/Device Support

    Then make the ispw again and restore with the new custom ispw.
     
  7. Tuckmonster thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    #7
    well i just deleted the files were you told me and it still didnt work... any other suggestions? thanks for your help
     
  8. Tuckmonster thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
  9. Tuckmonster thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
  10. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #10
    There's no need to triple post to bump the thread up, I can see it...

    Anyway, since you're still in DFU, hold down the home button and the power button for about 10 seconds. Next just press the power button and your phone will startup at usual.

    Then go into Recovery Mode and restore with Recovery Mode instead of DFU. Try it.
     
  11. Tuckmonster thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
  12. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #12

    The problem you are having is caused by not letting Pwnage tool put the phone in DFU mode for you. Follow the instructions exactly as pwnage tool says including the count down on the buttons and you will be fine. By putting the phone in DFU manually you are missing a part of the exploit and hence the failure.
     

Share This Page