Elusive WiFi Networks

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by pilotrtc, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. pilotrtc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #1
    I was visiting another company and turned on my iPod Touch's WiFi and no networks were found. I peeked at someone's (one of the head tech honchos at that company who owns an iPhone) computer (a PC) and saw his wireless network list was abundant with networks.

    He turned on the WiFi of his iPhone and it couldn't see those networks either. I tried typing in the name of the network his computer was connected to, selected the WPA security protocol that was identified on his network entry, and used the user name and password that company supplied to me but could not connect.

    Now, I realize that this head tech honcho, maybe, should have been able to answer this question but he's not a network tech honcho. I'm hoping some folks out there know more.

    Anyone?
     
  2. groovdudeyo macrumors regular

    groovdudeyo

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #2
    I'm pretty sure that it's just the antenna is situated on the iPod. For example when I'm at home and I want something to load faster I just tilt the iPod to the side.
     
  3. Sehnsucht macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #3
    Corporate Wi-Fi is like that. Here at the technical school I attend, there are a total of 3 networks that my iPod touch can see, but it can actually connect to only one. The other two are WPA encrypted, so I don't even bother. However, I do know the teachers use several "invisible" networks that require them to type in both the name of the network and the PIN. I believe they also use MAC address filtering or some crazy shizz. :rolleyes: Basically their premise is...if you're not one of us, you're not getting in. :cool:
     
  4. pilotrtc thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #4
    But....

    But what about the wireless networks that a computer can see and claim to be "all" bars but can't be seen by an iPod Touch nor an iPhone? What are those?

    Keep in mind, he was one of "them".
     
  5. chainprayer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #5
    As Sehnsucht said, if your MAC address isn't registered with the network, it won't even be visible to you
     
  6. Global2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #6
    The Touch can handle those networks. It is not simple, though. First, you have to install the iPhone Configuration Utility on a Mac or a PC. It is free on the Apple site. Then on the Mac or PC you create a configuration profile that you email to your Touch. You open the email on the Touch and click on the attachment, which then installs the profile. Of course you have to have the right credentials (id and password) for the network. Apple also publishes a guide to all this. http://support.apple.com/manuals/en_US/Enterprise_Deployment_Guide.pdf

    Global2
     

Share This Page