eMac Locks up coming out of sleep

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MatthewLTL, Feb 10, 2015.

  1. MatthewLTL macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #1
    My eMac locks up once it comes out of sleep. It will wake up but is unresponsive after a minute or two it will just beachball and i have to turn it off and back on. I fixed it by disabling sleep mode and disabled it from spinning down the hard drive but i don't like it doing this as it tends to go slow and needing a restart every few days. What does this mean?
     
  2. comda macrumors 6502a

    comda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #2
    I would check the Hard drive. it sounds like Once you put your Emac to sleep and try to wake it the drive isnt spinning up properly. My Emac Recently had a hard drive failure. It was playing some tunes from grooveshark and then it stopped spinning and gave me a pinwheel. After that the question mark folder. Run disk utility. and possibly reseat the RAM. Id start with that.
     
  3. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #3
    Just put a 80GB HDD in it. the HDD came out of a Tivo Series 2 DT
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    I would look into which peripherals are connected. I had a knockoff Mac keyboard that would crash a G5 with fans blasting if it tried to sleep.
     
  5. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #5
    Targus USB 2.0 4 Port hub
    Lenovo NetVista keyboard
    Logitech M305 Mouse
    Rocketfish USB Bluetooth adaptor
    netis WF2120 Nano USB Wireless N
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    Try removing things one by one and putting it to sleep. I do not think the Rocketfish adapter would cause anything as mine is just fine with my Macs but the wireless adapter may. This is just a possibility though...
     

Share This Page