eMac running Leopard - Bad idea?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by new.Mac, Jul 10, 2010.

1. new.Mac macrumors newbie

I am new to Macs but my Dell laptop just crashed for the 6th time!!!:mad: Therefore I am getting a used mac and I am on a very tight budget. I am currently looking at an eMac g4. It has a 1.25 GHz Powerpc g4 processor, 512 MB RAM, and 80 GB hard drive. It has Mac os x 10.5.4 installed along with programs like: Microsoft Office, Photoshop, and iLife. Would it be a bad idea to get this computer?:confused:

2. cantthinkofone macrumors 65816

cantthinkofone

I would put 10.4 (Tiger) on it. Leopard is a hungry kitty for resources.

Office is going to be slow, as is photoshop, and iLife as well.

What is your budget if I may ask? Might be able to get a better computer.

3. Tjwardach macrumors newbie

Tjwardach

If the price is right.... I have had a 1 GHz eMac for several years, and wanted to replace it for a while. It's a workhorse and keeps chugging along, and also with a tight budget, I can't justify the expense of getting a new one, when this one runs great! It's main function now is the conduit for my iPad. Adding a tilt/swivel stand and maxing out the RAM will certainly help. :apple:

4. Little Endian macrumors 6502a

too many variables... how much is the asking price for the emac that you are interested in? If the price is under $300 then it may be worth it depending on your needs. If you are considering a G4 machine I would suggest getting a 1.42 Ghz eMac or mac Mini with at least 1Gb or more RAM especially if you want to run Leopard. If your budget allows I would go for a used Core 2 Duo imac or mac mini that is equipped with at least a 9400m.