Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MrT8064

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 7, 2006
UK
Hi everyone, a friend of mine who had recently bourght a new iMac was fed up with it freezing, so he wrote to sjobs@apple.com and a few hours later got this response, here is the email:

Date: 8 November 2007 16:12:46 GMT
To: MY FRIENDS NAME <MY FRIENDS EMAIL ADDRESS>
Subject: Re: Online Mac, Offline Lemon

This problem should be fixed in a software update soon. Sorry, and thanks for your patience.

Steve

On Nov 8, 2007, at 4:08 AM, MY FRIENDS NAME wrote:

Dear Mr Jobs,

I am writing to tell you that I bought this iMac with AppleCare from the Apple UK Higher Education store on Leopard Friday, Leopard is great, as is most of the iMac, however, it is suffering from the hanging problem which many other iMac users have mentioned on the Apple forums.

As a student, I cannot do my university work without my computer, therefore I rang up the Apple Store at Bullring, Birmingham, U.K. instead of ringing AppleCare because AppleCare will come and take my machine away. I explained my reasons to the Birmingham staff and asked for an exchange. However, I was very disappointed by the reply ,'Sorry, I am sorry we can't do that because the online store is a different branch from us.' Online store and retail store returns end up in the same place anyway, which is the head quarters.

I read a few articles on the Apple discussion forum and found a lot of other Mac users are having the same problem, a Mac user from Chicago who bought a iMac 24" 2.4GHz with the same problem had been offered an option to exchange it for a 2.8 GHz iMac. I am not asking for a upgrade exchange here, all I want is an iMac which works. This is my eighth Mac machine since my first iBook G4, and none of them have such an annoying issue.