Email question concerning iMac and man (hotmail)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Franny4321, Feb 3, 2012.

1. Franny4321 macrumors member

I am trying to set up my iMac and not have to use the pc anymore. I have been using MSN (Hotmail). I have many saved emails on their server which I want to transfer to a folder on my desktop. I have googled everything I can think of but no answer. If anyone knows the trick to this, please help. Thx in advance.

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

Turn on IMAP on your hotmail account and set up the account in Mail as IMAP. The messages should download.

3. Franny4321 thread starter macrumors member

Thx Miles 0, yes, I googled for an answer and browsed page after page. I am new to Mac, so set all this up can be confusing. MSN and Hotmail was auto set up when I downloaded MSN on windows. I did go to Mail (Mac) and look at preferences and account. I don't see how to change the Pop or whatever. Sorry to be so dumb about this, but I did not know that Mac was not as user friendly as windows. Who would have thought it? :confused: I am having to go to Mac Basics and Help section almost daily for some simple answers. And once again, yes I google first. I have parallel and windows 7 on the macbook pro, and find myself using windows more and more. Seems I may have bought the expensive mac machines to run windows 7.

4. Omi macrumors newbie

Omi

Hi Franny,
    Don't worry, you'll see how easy mac is soon.
    What Miles was trying to say is turn IMAP on in the hotmail.com preferences.
    Then when you do that, open mail and create an account with your hotmail. It will automatically download those emails onto a folder on your mac.

Apple has their own service that works automatically called iCloud if you want to check that out.

5. James Craner, Feb 4, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2012

James Craner macrumors 68000

James Craner