empire at war

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by ostrich160, Apr 27, 2011.

  1. ostrich160 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #1
    hi, I have recently brought a macbook pro i5 (2011 model) and was wondering how well, if I could at all, star wars empire at war runs? I was going to buy this off the app store, would this make it better, worse or about the same.

    Thanks everyone
    Tom
    :apple:
     
  2. WillEH macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    Hi, I've never played it myself, but I hear it struggles on the MBP. You may lag a little. I'd suggest not buying it for the mac. But I hope others give input and can give other suggestions or experience. :)
     
  3. judasrising2209 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    #3
    I have the 09' MBP with the 9400m and 2.26c2d and EAW runs amazingly on bootcamp (winxp). I haven't bit the bullet on the mac app store one yet though. Been waiting for some more reviews to make sure it will run effectively, but until I don't know how it runs on the mac side. Hopefully it runs just as well on osx as winxp.
     
  4. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #4
    You crazy :rolleyes: . I played Empire at war on medium settings on a GMA 950 a while ago. I remember my older mbp with the 8600GT just about maxed it. If he has the 13in he should still be able to play it fine, if its a 15in mbp then it will be maxed out easily
     
  5. WillEH macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    No, you! :eek:

    So I was wrong, I'm sorry. What I hear is wrong. Slap me twice and kiss me once. Sorry. Enjoy the game :)
     
  6. Kenjic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    #6
    Crashes in Macbook pro 13" 2011

    I am on a Macbook pro 13" 2011 2.7GHz core i7 with SSD and running Lion. I have noticed that the game is very sluggish, even when playing with minimum graphics and in window mode without any other software running. I look at iStat on the dashboard and it shows Empire at War using 114% of the processes.
    Now I have played until I conquered the lower part of the galactic map and Han Solo joined my army. After that the game crashes whenever I try to load the game I saved in the galactic map.
    I guess it is not compatible.
     

Share This Page