Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lithoart

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 24, 2010
I use a PHP script that records the number of clicks on a weblink I want to monitor. Every so often I want to zero (or empty) a number of files (all are .dat files) to start the counting afresh. Is there a way to automate this using maybe Automator or AppleScript?

NoNameBrand

macrumors 6502
Nov 17, 2005
Halifax, Canada
I use a PHP script that records the number of clicks on a weblink I want to monitor. Every so often I want to zero (or empty) a number of files (all are .dat files) to start the counting afresh. Is there a way to automate this using maybe Automator or AppleScript?

If the PHP script opens the file for writing, why not just check its age and fopen() it with 'w' instead of 'a' if it's not fresh.

lithoart

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 24, 2010
sorry, I am NEW to this.

What you said doesn't mean anything to me.

Mind elaborating?

Thanks!

If the PHP script opens the file for writing, why not just check its age and fopen() it with 'w' instead of 'a' if it's not fresh.

NoNameBrand

macrumors 6502
Nov 17, 2005
Halifax, Canada
sorry, I am NEW to this.

What you said doesn't mean anything to me.

Mind elaborating?

Thanks!

Sorry— I assumed you meant you'd written the PHP script. There are many ways of doing what you want to do, in PHP or with some other language/tool.

Depending on how your PHP script works, my suggestion might not even work. Open a copy in your favourite text editor and see if it has an 'fopen' command in it.

My thought was that somewhere, the PHP script will open the appropriate .dat file for appending (new stuff written at the end), with an fopen( 'foo.dat', 'a') command:
PHP:
<?php
// this is a comment
// rest of programme
$file = 'foo.dat';
// rest of programme

$fileHandle = fopen($file, 'a');
//programme writes writes writes data and closes file