iPhone Emulators for ios8?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by SweetDove, Nov 7, 2014.

  1. SweetDove macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    #1
    Hey everyone!
    I'm super excited to see the jailbreak is out! (I've been staying away so I don't torture myself!)

    Stats:
    8.1
    iphone 6
    verizon

    I used to play on GBA4iOS but it appears apple fixed the time loop that allowed that to run.

    Are there any emulators out for GBA/DS games now for the new ios8.1 ?
     
  2. dannyg86 macrumors regular

    dannyg86

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #2
    Check out RetroArch, it's a multi-system (all in one) emulator.

    It's really good.

    Don't download it from the Cydia repo, add their official repo: http://www.libretro.com/cydia

    And download it from there to get the latest version :)
     
  3. Timmeh8604 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    #3
    Awesome! Thanks for that post. So can I add any rom from Cydia sources and it will work?
     
  4. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #4
    If you can, I'd honestly recommend adding them via Safari or through your file system if you can because it's a lot more reliable and simple than installing roms via Cydia.
     
  5. SweetDove thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    #5
    Danny, Are you able to play DS games on that emulator? Everytime I try to load heartgold it just crashes.

    I downloaded it from coolroms and opened it directly in retroarch.

    I have "choose core" set to auto, then I go to load content, I coose heartgold.zip (I also have heartgold.nds) and it pops up with "cores" I tried Arcade FBA, Arcade MAME 2003, and Nintendo DS (deSmuME) and both FBA and DS crash the program, and MAME just says error.

    I've also tried restarting the phone, removed NDS4Ios and running on airplane mode.

    Just wondering if it's me, or the emulator.

    I can load Light Platinum (a fan made game) though which is a GBA game
     
  6. gman901 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #6

    Same thing happens to me. I don't know why it doesn't work. The same emulator works perfect when I had an android phone. Also, I'm trying to play OoT on the N64 and the screen is the iPhone 4 size. How do you scale it up to fit the entire 6 Plus screen? Emulation seems much more confusing on iOS to me but I'm not familiar with the jailbreak community.
     
  7. dannyg86 macrumors regular

    dannyg86

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #7
    Check your file permissions for crashing games. Owner should be mobile. Generally games need 0644 file permissions to work, if not the emulator crashes.

    I haven't tried any NDS games yet unfortunately, just psx, n64, snes, nes, genesis and gameboy. All of those worked fine.

    If you choose to add a new config for x core (with x being the name of the emulator in question) you can add scaling options for that emulator, along with the overlay used and tons of other settings
     
  8. Gmcube macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #8
    Not to hijack the thread but I just installed this and tested two games, one gba, one nes, they work fine. But I've never been fond of touch screen buttons.

    I see it supports wii remotes but I cant seem to get it to recognize it. I've turned on the blue tooth toggle and hit the sync button on my wii remote and nothing happens. I've used wii remotes in the past on the iphone 4 with some other emulator, but having trouble this time. Does it not support ios 8 yet or something? Or maybe there's something in the emulator I'm supposed to hit to have it search for the wii remote (other than selecting the input to it of course)
     
  9. gman901 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #9
    Thanks! I'll try it again. Can you help me figure out how to find the scaling option? I hit the invisible button at the top during a game and the video options are all numeric ratios. I think there is a GUI interface based on your response and other posts, but I don't know how to get to that option.
     
  10. Timmeh8604 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    #10
    Same question as above, layout is not right on my 6 plus as its off to the side and in landscape mode I have to hit to the right of the actual button for it to respond. Any help, thanks.
     
  11. dannyg86 macrumors regular

    dannyg86

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #11
    To the poster before me, if you are using upscale or little brother, it will mess up the Retro Arch overlay display and related touch events.

    To the other questions about scale, ill post up some annotated images to guide you today.

    I am also planning on making up a general Retro Arch getting started and faq post, just haven't got around to it yet.
     
  12. Timmeh8604 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    #12
    I haven't changed or added anything to retro arch. I installed it on my 6 plus, installed a Snes rom and tied to play. In portrait mode it's squeezed to the left side and is totally off scale and in landscape mode it looks better, but still not scaled properly and the buttons only work if I got about an inch to the right of them. Thanks for the help.
     
  13. gman901 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #13
    That would be very helpful! I am having the same issue as the other poster in the fact that the button taps are off - you have to touch the far right lower corner or upper corners to register a button tap. The actual button icons do not register a press. I did install "forcegoodfit" but I never applied it to RetroArch. I will uninstall it to see if that makes a difference. The tweak didn't work anyway.
     
  14. gman901, Nov 8, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2014

    gman901 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #14
    I figured out how to fix the resolution for all the emulators to fit the 6 Plus screen. The only thing I can't figure out is how to move the on screen buttons to the correct hit spots.
     
  15. Timmeh8604 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    #15
    Emulators for ios8?

    Can you share the screen size fix and can anyone help with the button tap position problem?
     
  16. dannyg86 macrumors regular

    dannyg86

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #16
    I haven't had time to get to making the guide yet guys i'm afraid... Work is hectic right now. Will try to get it done soon :)
     
  17. gman901 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #17
    Yes, sorry about that. I couldn't find the hit spot for the screen overlay so I connected my MFI controller to the emulator and assigned the RGUI button to my controller so I can easily access the GUI. I opened it up and went to Video, Customize and the move the left corner all the way up to the top and used the directional button to move to the next one and stretched the right corner all the way to the right. The screen was filled and saved my customized configuration. Now all the emulators fill the screen.
     
  18. Timmeh8604 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    #18
    Any updates on button placement? Got the screen size adjusted, just need the buttons to work in the correct location on the screen.
     

Share This Page