Enable AA on SC2 with ATI cards with the new 10.7a beta drivers

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by TMRaven, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #1
    AMD has launched a very specific set of beta drivers to all windows xp/vista and 7 users for their ati gpus for enabling Anti-Aliasing in Starcraft2.

    Starcraft2 itself doesn't offer anti-aliasing, it has to be forced through 3rd party drivers. Nvidia drivers allow for it, but ATI drivers wouldn't. Now with the release of 10.7a, you can enjoy anti-aliasing in starcraft2.

    http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/ATICat107aBetaDriver.aspx

    Please be patient with the link, as their servers are often overloaded, and cannot currently complete requests.

    My general consensus, these drivers are either very inefficient, or 2560x1440 and all ultra settings plus even 2xaa really maxes out my mobility 4850. I however, can get along with the same settings except for shaders to low, and get 60fps. I was able to play a maxed dirt2 at native resolution and 4xaa, so I'm assuming it's the drivers that quite aren't up to par. Starcract2 is also very refined with its models, so enabling aa won't make that much of a difference at all. Still fun to try it out, though.
     
  2. Hydroxs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2
    The way the game render images causes a huge performance impact when AA is enable. I am running it at max with 2x AA with a 5850 and my fps dropped about 35%. Same can be said about nvidia cards.
     
  3. Meever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #3
    Would AA improve visuals substantially? During gameplay the models are so small. I've yet to see a single jagged edge anywhere.

    Doesn't AA usually benefit first or third person titles more?
     
  4. Hydroxs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    Unless you zoom in and stare at an edge, you won't notice it.
     
  5. senc01a macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #5
    I generally turn off AA in all ATI and NVIDIA cards because it really affects the performance, specially at high resolutions.
     
  6. CJM macrumors 65816

    CJM

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Location:
    U.K.
    #6
    Well I play all games (which support it) at at least 4x AA, so if say, using 2x has a massive performance drop then it's probably cause they still need to work on the drivers. They are beta after all.
     

Share This Page