Enable "Auto-Dim" in iPhone 2.0

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by theotherrogue, Aug 12, 2008.

  1. theotherrogue macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #1
    On the pre-2.0 software, you could use the "Extended Preferences" application to enable an "Auto-Dim" feature in your Settings>Brightness menu. So far, no solution has been posted for jailbroken iPhone 2.0 software... until now! :D

    Replace the file "Brightness.plist" in the following directory: /private/var/stash/Applications/Preferences.app

    This will allow you to specify a time after you last touched the screen, for the screen to auto-dim to the lowest possible brightness. This works no matter what application you are running.

    Note: the way this is implemented requires that you have "Auto-Lock" enabled as well. Since the highest standard setting for Auto-lock is only 5 Minutes, I have also edited the settings file there to provide more flexibility. To add options for 30 Minutes and Infinity Auto-Lock, replace the file "General.plist" in the following directory: /private/var/stash/Applications/Preferences.app
    (Whenever you change the Auto-Lock setting, you'll need to go back and set the Auto-Dim feature again.)


    Be smart - back up your original files before replacing them.

    Have fun saving your battery life!!
    (Why Apple doesn't already provide this in the Settings baffles me)


    [Credit goes to the developer of Extended Preferences for the original .plists that I modified]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. DarkFlame macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    #2
    I wish you knew if this worked on a first generation iPhone, sounds like a sweet feature!
     
  3. theotherrogue thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #3
    The Brightness.plist file will definitely work on a 1st Gen iPhone.

    Send me a copy of your 1st Gen General.plist file, and I'll edit it and post it here.
     
  4. buckbear macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #4
    The 3G General.plist works on my 2G phone (2.0.1, jailbroke, no SIM card). Turning location services on flips the switch with no apparent ill consequences. Auto-dim works. This came up when I googled for "auto-dim iphone" and I registered to report my results. Thanks man!
     
  5. elmaynardo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #5
    Works great on my 2G iPhone. (It also has a Location Services option btw, just not using GPS)

    This is very useful, thanks.
     
  6. tbmx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    #6
    Just replying to say thank you! This is awesome and I agree Apple should have included this from the start.
     
  7. kalirob99 macrumors 68000

    kalirob99

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Fantastic little tip, just unfortunately I missed its usage as FW is at 2.2 now (And pretty positive these wouldn't work since these were written for 2.0; the reason I am bumping this old topic).
    Any chance anyone might know how to edit the Preferences in 2.2 to do this? It'd be much appreciated as this is an awesome tweak to say the least, and is always goes unnoticed by others for some reason.
     
  8. PYR0M310N macrumors 6502a

    PYR0M310N

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #8
    Working fine on my 2.2 FW.
    Also, what is the difference between using Infinity and have Auto-Lock disabled?
     
  9. kalirob99 macrumors 68000

    kalirob99

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Really? I don't seem to be seeing a change. :( Any suggestions as to why?
    Also don't seem to be able to SSH using WinSCP anymore. So I uploaded the files to fileshare and then downloaded them to my phone and placed them in the Preferences directory using Finder. Still to no avail as the same options are still available :(.
    Any chance someone might put this up on Cydia as a hack or something? Otherwise I guess I missed out. Any help or suggestions would be great as I am at a loss as to what to do.
    As for the differences between the two, I gather Auto Dim doesn't work unless you have Infinity activated in Auto Lock. As Auto Dim only works when a time is set.
     

Share This Page