Enable Internet on iMac G3

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dotdotdot, Apr 4, 2009.

  1. dotdotdot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #1
    I just acquired a Bondi Blue iMac G3, the original model without firewire. It's such a cool retro computer with files on the OS dating back to 1999, which is awesome.

    Anyway, having absolutely no knowledge of OS 9, I plugged in an ethernet cable but have no idea how to get it to actually access the internet. How would I get this computer online?
     
  2. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Wichita KS
    #2
    Open up the TCP/IP control panel and select Ethernet as your connection method. Then go ahead and set Ethernet in the Appletalk control panel too. That should be about it. OS 9 was built as an internet OS, so there should also be an internet setup assistant on there somewhere. Use the last build of Mozilla or Netscape 7 for Mac.
     
  3. dotdotdot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #3
    In TCP/IP control panel, all that's present is PPP slot 0, AOL Link, AOL Link Enhanded, and AppleTalk (MacIP). Selecting AppleTalk has finder pop up saying "TCP/IP cannot run over AppleTalk because AppleTalk is inactive"
     
  4. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Wichita KS
    #4
    Okay, you'll have to turn on AppleTalk then. It should let you set TCP/IP over Ethernet once you get it all setup since the iMac has an ethernet port.
     
  5. The art of poor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    nyc
    #5
    I had to do that once with a G3 too..

    what I ended up doing was calling Time warner and I told them it was a g3 & they looked it up and walked me thru a few steps and it connected
     
  6. haravikk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #6
    Strange that you need to go through these steps, I recently restored a G3 using my iMac install-disk, and all I had to do was plug-in the cable and it was internet-ready =)

    I suppose if you've acquired the G3 iMac from someone else perhaps some of their settings are lingering? If you got the restore/install disk(s) with it then you may want to consider writing a fresh-install at this stage assuming you haven't done much with it yet.

    Also, I installed iCab on the G3, as it seemed it to be a more recent/compliant browser than Mozilla/Netscape?
     

Share This Page