Enable TRIM support in 10.9

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by mayuka, Oct 25, 2013.

  1. mayuka macrumors 6502a

    mayuka

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #1
    Hi.

    I searched everywhere. The old command to enable T.R.I.M. support for non-Apple SSDs does not work anymore on 10.9 Mavericks. Do you know the new command?

    I'm using:

    sudo perl -pi -e 's|(\x52\x6F\x74\x61\x74\x69\x6F\x6E\x61\x6C\x00{1,20})[^\x00]{9}(\x00{1,20}\x54)|$1\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00$2|sg' /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext/Contents/MacOS/IOAHCIBlockStorage
     
  2. mjcharlton71 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    #2
    I found it easier to use the free version of Trim Enabler and have it run on startup.... that way once the patch is enabled, if the machine's restarted following OS level patching and TRIM is disabled on non-Apple SSDs (or any other reason), the app warns you so you can switch it on again.
     
  3. ammusk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #3
  4. mayuka thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mayuka

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #4
    That one worked. However, I really would like to know the new string. It would make things easier and I don't have to purge the drive from a silly helper tool.
     
  5. ammusk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #5
    Purge the drive? What do you mean?
     
  6. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #6
    sudo perl -pi -e 's|(\x52\x6F\x74\x61\x74\x69\x6F\x6E\x61\x6C\x00{1,20})[^\x00]{9}(\x00{1,20}\x54)|$1\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00$2|sg' /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext/Contents/MacOS/IOAHCIBlockStorage
     
  7. mayuka thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mayuka

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #7
    TrimEnabler installs a helper tool. I don't want to keep the app on my hd, because I want as much free space as possible (even the 256 GB are pretty much filled). Too bad it doesn't offer an uninstall option.

    ----------

    Unless I'm not mistaken that's the exact same string I posted earlier and it doesn't work.
     
  8. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #8
    It worked for me. I have TRIM enabled in Mavericks.
     
  9. ammusk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #9
    With the latest 3.1.2 update the menu helper was removed.

    Am not able to find any release notes for the same, but I remember this quite well.

    It now works like a standard (non menu) app.

    Here's an alternative to trim enabler:
    http://chameleon.alessandroboschini.it/index.php

    Although I don't use it, it's supposed to be better and less intrusive.

    It's free unlike TrimEnabler.
     
  10. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
  11. mayuka thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mayuka

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #11
    Strange. The command didn't work on my Mac mini + Samsung 830.

    Whatever. I have enabled it now and I will keep my eyes open for a changed command. Thanks anybody involved. :)
     
  12. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #12
    Strange that it didn't work for you. I wonder what the differences are between your system and mine.
     
  13. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #13
    I use the chameleon SSD optimizer app and it worked in Mavericks and said trim was enabled, but ow I wonder as I can't see where it reports it enabled or not?? It used to show within the System report, but I am not seeing anything there about trim???

    How would I tell, does someone have a terminal command I can run to see if it is truly enabled??
     
  14. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
  15. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #15
    That's odd. Neither of my systems that has an SSD on it is showing the Trim information in the system information. It used to have an entry that said "Trim Enabled:" and then reported Yes or no accordingly. That line of information is no longer there. Weird???
     
  16. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #16
    I have no explanation...
     

    Attached Files:

  17. mayuka thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mayuka

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #17
    In the system report of my Mac Mini 2011 the line was always there. When I used the command it still said "No" after reboot. After using TrimEnabler the line said "Yes". Maybe you are confusing the hard disk with the ssd? I've seen switching disk0 / disk1 when I first installed the ssd to my Mac mini a year ago with 10.8.
     
  18. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #18
    No, that's definitely the SSD. 512GB Crucial M4. Perhaps the fact that it is on a PCI-e SATA 3 card is the difference?
     
  19. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #19
    Figured it out...

    First:

    sudo perl -pi -e 's|(\x52\x6F\x74\x61\x74\x69\x6F\x6E\x61\x6C\x00{1,20})[^\x00]{9}(\x00{1,20}\x54)|$1\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00$2|sg' /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext/Contents/MacOS/IOAHCIBlockStorage

    Then:

    sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions/

    Reboot.
     
  20. mayuka thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mayuka

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
  21. Chazz08 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #22
    The Chameleon program didn't work for me, but this did. TRIM enabled. I never knew about TRIM though. It's new to me....I just recently got an SSD back in June, so I hadn't really known much about them. Now that it's enabled, I've noticed that when I delete something, it doesn't stay in my trash bin, is that correct?

    From what I've read about it, I like the idea. :)


    [Edit] Never mind, just another bug. My trash bin wasn't filling up on the dock when I deleted something, but the files are in there. Weird.
     
  22. widestload macrumors regular

    widestload

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Location:
    manchester UK
    #23
    Does this just get copied into terminal (and password entered along the way to get it to run)? Or does something else need to be done with it?
     
  23. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
  24. kensic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    #25
    does Apple use these commands (or something simliar) to enable trim on their SSD's?


    I like the idea of enable trim on non-apple ssd's w/o using 3rd party solution
     

Share This Page